Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
it was great! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was a really good recipe, I wish I could give it 4.5 stars instead of 4. I down graded it because it needed to be a little more clear. The cake was nice and moist and my French students loved it! Here is what you need to know: 1. Grease the pan and the paper. 2. Beat the egg yolks until they are very very pale. The egg whites should be stiff enough to stand on the spatula. 3. Make sure the cake springs in the middle not just the edges. 4. Dust with lots of powdered sugar. 5. When you roll with the towel, roll the towel inside of the cake. If you use the towel to roll the cake onto itself, it will stick and you might have issues. 6. Prepare this a day ahead. It is so much better the next day! Thank you for the recipe. It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly_Qz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Black Creek, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've always wanted to make this but was a little intimidated by it. I had to take a dessert to our Mary Kay Christmas Party, so I decided to take the bull by the horns and do it. It took a little while to put it all together, but it turned out wonderful and I received many compliments on it. At the end of the party, there wasn't any left to take home. I won't hesitate to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skeez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This turned out beautifully,considering I've never made a "log cake" before. Rave reviews from everyone! However, I did make my own chocolate frosting in place of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This one is kind of a pain to make BUT so very worth the effort! Use fresh eggs, and be sure to refrigerate to keep that "eggy" taste away. We like to add more sugar to the frosting to sweeten it up a bit as it can be quite powerfully cocoa tasting. Decorating this cake is a fun holiday tradition for us. We like to dust it with confectioners sugar to make it look like snow, but don't do that until you're ready to present/serve it as it will get a bit clumpy and not as attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I have made this 3 times. Frankly, this is better than ANY other version of a Buche de Noel that I've ever tried. The cake is so delicate, and the mousse is to die for. Everyone loves this cake when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this two years ago and it was not only delicious but beautiful!!! I had forgotten where I had this recipe...so glad I found it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, it was so like and yummy tasting. The only thing that I didn't like is that the cake was so thin after you rolled it. I would have liked a thicker cake portion. So the next time that I make this I will be making 2 cakes and try rolling them together to see if that better. The one thing that I did was I iced it with a chocolate icing from a can, I won't be doing that again as it make the cake waaay to sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this for Christmas this year and the entire family loved it. My husband said it was the best dessert I had EVER made. I have to admit, however, that I was skeptical when I took it out of the oven..it seemed so thin, but it rolled up nicely. I scored it with a fork to make it look like a log. I only dusted it with powdered sugar added a few candied cherries for decoration. If you like chocolate, keep the recipe as is. It would be wonderful for anyone who has celiac disease, as it is gluten free. I know my family now expects this every year for Christmas!! Now it's Easter...and my family want "the Buche" back..now, it's "Buche de Pacques"...I omitted the cocoa powder in the filling..so it was just vanilla. Then, I made more whipped cream and frosted the whole log and decorated with peeps and jelly beans on the side. It was awesome! Lighter and not as chocolatey as the Christmas version. "Best dessert in 20 years of marriage" raved my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States