Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by kmarttucci
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is absolutely one of my favorite cake recipes now. My mother has called it the every holiday and occasion cake. The frosting which is more like a very yummy mouse can stand on its own, only about half of it made it to each cake(I made three) The first one I put too much salt in though which lets just say it made its way to the garbage. The second and third though came out absolutely wonderful and everyone adored them, even thought they were too beautiful to cut. I had to use my handy dandy electric mixer just to get everything to the right consistency and still took a bit of time, but it was definitely worth it. I have to say that the best way to cool it down is sticking it in the freezer for about half an hour, otherwise no matter how much you cool it in the fridge the frosting will become a little liquidy (at least that was a problem I had with one of the cakes) Anyways, I will definitely be making this wonderful cake again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Was amazing. Will be making again, definitely. Nice christmas eve surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Happy with the results. Use a very light/airy frosting on the exterior because the cake is very delicate. My teenage kids had trouble spreading without wrecking it. Overall, success! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Followed recipe and it was a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and my cake turned out beautifully. I was worried that the filling was not sweet enough, but after the cake was completely constructed it tasted plenty sweet. I would recommend greasing your pan and parchment...I did not, and although I was able to remove the parchment paper, it was a very delicate and scary process. I made my cake 2 days before serving it and kept it in the fridge, wrapped up tight in plastic wrap. Before serving I covered the cake with the remaining filling and used a fork to rake "bark" lines and then heavily dusted with powdered sugar. I'll post a picture. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was wonderful! Not as difficult as it looks. I the extra whip cream to do the outside and decorated with slivered almonds, powdered sugar and shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Was so excited to try this out as it looked so cute and fun. My husband and I found this extremely time consuming. In the end it wasn't worth all the effort sadly. The taste was awful, was like eating cocoa powder. Cake was so thin it was really difficult to roll without breaking. Lastly when it was all said it done it was so much tinier then I imagined. It was a good thing it wasn't a hit at our Christmas party or their wouldn't have been enough for everyone. Maybe someday I'll try again and make my own recipe to improve the taste and size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was really good! I made it for the first time just today and it tastes wonderful! Light and fluffy despite being flour less. My weary Mom tried it after a few of my cooking disasters and her mouth dropped because it was so good. I am so happy to have found a gluten free recipe like this! The only alteration I made was I added an extra half cup confectionary sugar to the frosting. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was amazing! Definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I make this about every other Christmas so family and friends think it's too hard to do yearly! It's actually quite easy although time-consuming. I forgot to grease the paper before pouring in the batter. Won't do that again! Picking off paper very labor intensive. I always make a "stump" on the top and use powdered sugar as "snow." Icing seems like overkill although my family chocoholics LOVE it. I also rob my holly bushes of a few leaves and berries for extra frou-frou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I only used the filling part as we made a genoise cake for the sponge as it is easier then this recipe, my 11 year old son was making it for Christmas dinner. We used 3 cups of whipping cream to fill and frost the cake, I also added 3 envelopes of Dr Oetker's Whip It to stabilize the whipping cream. We cut one end off to make a knot and used a fork to make bark like surface, decorated with mushroom cookies and silk holly and berries from the dollar store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States