Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Delicious and a fun way to incorporate traditions from other countries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, this was so tasty! Thanks to 1. the reviewers who recommended spraying the parchment paper with non-stick spray, 2. the reviewer who emphasized the importance of beating the eggs enough, 3. the reviewer who suggested rolling out gumdrops to make holly leaves, and 4. the reviewer who suggested using a fork to make lines that looked like tree bark. My bûche turned out like a work of art! And did I mention it was really tasty? Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The recipe sounded intimidating but it was surprisingly easy. The cake was fabulous, everyone complimented me on it. Parchment paper is a requirement for this recipe. I sprayed it with PAM for Baking and the cake practically slid off the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this cake for a competition in my french class. I coated it in chocolate frosting, then made the frosting darker and made little swirls and lines, so it would look like a real log. Then I attached a decorative tip to the frosting applicator to make a bunch of little leaves, and made bunches of litle cherries. After all that, I lightly dusted it with powdered sugar. It was sooooooo yummy and I got 2nd place for decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anoosheh
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
It was delicious and looked great. Maybe the next time I use half of the filling to spread on the sponge cake and te other half as frosting with confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lulu
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Initially I didn't believe that you could make a cake without flour, but according to the Cooks' Encyclopedia, it's all about the power of eggs. Now all I can say is, you've gotta try it to believe it! The cake was entirely melt-in-the-mouth. Only thing is, as DH said, beware the cholesterol... I greased and floured my greaseproof paper before pouring the batter in, and had minimal issues with tearing the paper off later. Also turned out the cake onto a piece of greaseproof paper dusted with icing sugar and rolled it up, worked fine. And used a Whip Topping from my local bakery supplier for the frosting. Can't wait till Xmas Eve to present it to my relatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
The directions are written clearly, if you follow them exactly you shouldn’t have a problem. When I served it on Christmas Eve my family raved about it, including my husband and his father who both lived in France. The one thing is… when a couple friends tried it several days later they said it was “eggy” tasting. So, maybe this recipe doesn’t keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by funnyfairy
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
It is a cake that can really impress everyone! I got the holy leaves from the neighbors fence (it looks like one) and I used glace cherries for the berries. I baked the muschroom shaped cookies (cap + stem, stick them with cream). It turns out really well and it's really nice as seen in the picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by funnyfairy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yangon, Yangon Division, Myanmar
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
The cake had a nice texture and flavor-light and spongy. Instead of making the filling from scratch, I filled it with a whipped topping. It looked really pretty and it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
The cake for this yule log turned out really light and fluffy. Overall, the recipe made a very rich and decadent dessert. However, it was too rich for my taste and I wish I had reduced the amount of whipped cream/cocoa mixture I added. Although it was time-consuming and a tad complicated, the cake turned out to be beautiful and what can be more festive than a yule log?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States