Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
So good and so surprisingly easy! I did make a double batch of filling and use some to frost my cake - it just added to the presentation and, after all, you can never have too much chocolate whipped cream. It was a huge success at my Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Belgrade Lakes, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This came out wonderful! Everyone was in awe of the mushrooms I made and everyone loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It took quite a bit of time but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a great recipe, and thanks to the tips about over dusting the towel and whipping the eggs to oblivion, mine turned out wonderful. Some comments I got were: "this is the best cake I've had", "this cake is gorgeous and yummy". It was rich for sure, but very delicious. I will make this again as it was not very difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Fun recipe and tasty. I used truffles and candy cane stubs to form mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Turned out not bad... the filling was kinda runny but was still good... I think next time I'm gonna use more sugar, the icing was a little bitter...good overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was not as difficult of an undertaking as I thought. It turned out beautifully. However, my number one tip would be to combine about a quarter of the egg white mixture into the yolk mixture before folding it all together. This lightens up the the consistency of the yolk mixture (which is still quite heavy even when whipped) and makes combining the whites and yolks a bit easier. You really have to be careful not to deflate your eggs. I've seen this done by Martha Stewart, Bobby Flay, Alton Brown, etc. I also added just about a quarter cup of cake flour at this point, just to give it a little more substance. I put a little less cocoa in my whipped cream, and then made a chocolate ganache icing to spread over top. Way delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made the recipe as written and it came out great. The only thing I didn't do was use the dish towel to turn out the cake- the fibers in the towel would have stuck to the cake so I just used anther piece of parchment paper. The batter was fluffy and wonderful looking. After it cooked for 13 minutes, it was still spongey and great. Next year I will get more fancy with decorating- this year was a test run and Yummy!! So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This turned out perfect for me! I beat the eggs 5 minutes, greased the parchment paper, and put a lot of powdered sugar on my towel and everything went smoothly. I didn't add cocoa to the frosting because I wanted white filling. I only used about half the filling and then added cocoa to the remaining filling and frosted the outside of my log. It was very tasty and I had no issues with an "eggy" taste like some did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I only gave this recipe 3/5 stars because it didn't turn out so hot for me. My sponge cake was a little lumpy, it was hard to get out of the pan (broke in many spots), and was VERY flimsy. It felt like it was going to fall apart after I iced it, but looked good and tasted alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States