Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I love the presentations of the traditional buche. I tried making one back when I was twenty. I ended up trying three times and I failed. This time I was determined to be successful. I beat the yolks for about 5 min--this is necessary to ensure that the cake is not too dense and chewy; something I wish someone had told me whan I was 20. I beat the whites til stiff and shiny. I baked on parchment paper lined cookie sheet. I used the cream in this recipe for the filling, but I knew that my BF would need something sweeter for the frosting. He has a major sweet tooth so I used the Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe from this site to frost the outside. I also cut off a branch at an angle from the end and placed it atop the buche. Enfin, un grand succes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
My husband and guests said this was the best dessert I'd ever made, and they ate it all too! I thought the batter didn't end up fluffy enough, but I had the mixer on its highest setting, so dunno?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I am very happy I chose this recipe. I admit I was a bit skeptical about the no flour in this recipe and almost opted not to make it but I love the texture and how it turned out. I was scared after unrolling the "cake" part, it looked horrible, but after I put in the filling and re-rolled it, it did look just like a log!! I opted to ice the outside with the chocolate whip cream filling from this recipe and used another recipe found here: Yule-Log for the filling inside. I am so glad I did! Turned out wonderfully festive and everyone loved it.. I will start making this every year now. I look forward to finding little trinkets throughout the year to add to the log. I couldnt find any this year so all I added was a sprig of holly and a few maraschino cherries for the berries. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skyler Kate
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this for my family Christmas dinner, and it was a BIG hit! I'd never made a real French dessert before, so I was a bit hesitant to try since it was a VERY last minute decision (think the day of the event with 4.5 hours until guests arrive, and no ingredients). Luckily for me, despite complications like the cake sticking to the parchment paper (I really recommend that you grease it or something), it came out beautifully and finished right on time! Not to mention, it was delicious, although rich, and BEAUTIFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is my husband's favorite dessert. I don't make it often because although it is not difficult, it is time comsuming. It tastes great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made two buche de noel's last year this one and a martha stewart one, I must say this one was easier, looked nicer, and had a much better mousse. The cake however was not as good, I must agree w/ others it was quite eggy but that is probably what made it easier to roll. The eggyness of the cake is the only reason it didn't get 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
In gathering up my Christmas dessert recipes, I simply cannot wait to make this again this year. For those who have not tried this, PLEASE--make this dessert! It is easy and fun--and the end results are spectacular! Everyone will think you spend DAYS making this! As an extra, I toasted some coconut and placed it on the bottom of the plate to look like snowy soil. In addition, I did use fork tines to make the frosting look like tree bark. This is an impressive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
absolutely wonderful....i made it for my husbands christmas luncheon at work...it was used as a table center piece. he said no one attempted to cut it because it looked so nice, they were very happy when he got the knife....it went so fast he didn't even get a piece. i will make 2 next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
We love this cake. It takes a little effort, but is well worth it if you like to take pictures of your food before you eat it like me. It's not too sweet and the filling is so light. I do add a little extra 10X sugar to stiffen it up. Decorate to your hearts desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States