Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I think this recipe was delicious but it was a lot of chocolate even for this chocoholic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Walters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This recipe is SUPER DELICIOUS! I think everyone would have eaten the whole thing if they could...seriously! Only a few quick tips: 1) Make a bit more filling, and use it to ice the log. I just added 1/2 cup more cream, and 1/4 cup more sugar, along with a tablespoon or so of Hershey's chocolate syrup:) 2) I'm only 12, and have a hard time separating the eggs, so here's an easy trick I like to use;) When separating the egg yolks, crack the egg onto a saucer, and use the rubber top of a baster (or a clean empty water bottle if you don't have one, don't worry if it looks a little smaller than the yolk), squeeze and sort of suction cup it on to the yolk. Then release. The yolk will have squeezed into it! Wait for all of the white to come back out, and then squeeze the yolk into the bowl. 3) When you're about to blend the eggs and sugar, make superfine sugar by sticking it in the blender on high for about 30 sec. It dissolves easier;) I gotta go now, We're having guests tonight, and I'm making another one of these!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. michele
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Everyone loved this Yule log. The center was so creamy. I did ice the cake Using the frosting recipe from the Hersey cocoa box and decorated with powdered sugar, meringue mushrooms and sugar butterflies . The presentation was fabulous and festive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good but use an 11 x 17 jelly roll pan or half-sheet pan - this makes too much batter and filling for a 10 x 13 - will overflow and make it more difficult to get it out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Barrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I did it for Christmas this year and everyone enjoyed it. It was a big winner! I had a request to do it again tonight for New Year eve. I will post pics later this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Okay first of all you really need to take a lot of the other reviewers advice. Made this twice, first time did not turn out well. Second time it came out perfect. You really need to beat the egg yolks for at least 6 minutes. The more you beat them the more air will get into them. The chocolate whipped cream was a major plus. I also added chopped walnuts before rolling. If you don't beat the eggs long enough the cake will not be spongy and light. Thank you for an incredible recipe !!! And thanks to the all recipe folks for the how to video. I would never have taken on the challenge if it wasn't for the video. Well done !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Photo by keg0002
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly fur the cake and filling. My log did crack a little upon the rolling and did it get stuck to the towel even with a lot of powdered sugar sprinkled. I just picked up the pieces and put it back on the cake. Not a big deal once you cover it with some chocolate frosting. I added some melting chocolate chunks from a another tutorial I saw on a blog to give it the a bark like effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I found the cake very easy to prepare, but rather bland. I used Chef John's chocolate mousse recipe for the filling instead of the chocolate whipped cream in the recipe, and that helped make it a bit more substantial. Topped it with chocolate ganache. It looks more impressive then it tastes, but looks REALLY impressive, if you do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyChef
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Last year I paid $45 for a store bought Buche de Noel. This year I made my own following this easy recipe and our Christmas dessert was even better than last year's! I took the advice of other reviewers and beat the heck out of the eggs for about 6 minutes and generously sprayed the pan and parchment paper with Pam, which is super important. For the frosting I added a 1/2 cup of melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and a tablespoon of Rum just so it was a little darker than the inside frosting. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent flavor but somewhat one dimensional (remember, few ingredients)... I added split fresh raspberries to the filling for a nice twist. Recommend against baking on silpat -- lost the "skin" of the cake against silpat. This will fill the pan to the top and then deflate as it cools, so grease to the entire pan to the top of the rim. :-( For the frosting, would recommend "dutched" cocoa for darker, more tree-like results! Impressive looking cake to present at parties. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States