Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made exactly as is. A new tradition started according to my family. One log fed 12 barely. I will make two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
A great cake! I made it for my French Club's Buche de Noel competition, and my entire family loved the piece we got to try! I can only hope the other club members enjoyed it too! ^u^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeacake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious and not as hard to make as you would think. There is plenty of chocolate cream for the inside and outside if you want it on the outside. It's actually very pretty without frosting - looks more like an actual log. But we like frosting so I did use the cream to frost the outside as well and used a fork to make it look more like bark. Still very pretty and tasty. I will definitely make this again. I followed the recipe as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Tastes like a fancy restaurant!! Glad I followed the advice of others and beat the eggs for a full 5 minutes. Cake was tender and delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kmarttucci
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is absolutely one of my favorite cake recipes now. My mother has called it the every holiday and occasion cake. The frosting which is more like a very yummy mouse can stand on its own, only about half of it made it to each cake(I made three) The first one I put too much salt in though which lets just say it made its way to the garbage. The second and third though came out absolutely wonderful and everyone adored them, even thought they were too beautiful to cut. I had to use my handy dandy electric mixer just to get everything to the right consistency and still took a bit of time, but it was definitely worth it. I have to say that the best way to cool it down is sticking it in the freezer for about half an hour, otherwise no matter how much you cool it in the fridge the frosting will become a little liquidy (at least that was a problem I had with one of the cakes) Anyways, I will definitely be making this wonderful cake again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Was amazing. Will be making again, definitely. Nice christmas eve surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetsuzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Happy with the results. Use a very light/airy frosting on the exterior because the cake is very delicate. My teenage kids had trouble spreading without wrecking it. Overall, success! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Followed recipe and it was a huge hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sami's Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and my cake turned out beautifully. I was worried that the filling was not sweet enough, but after the cake was completely constructed it tasted plenty sweet. I would recommend greasing your pan and parchment...I did not, and although I was able to remove the parchment paper, it was a very delicate and scary process. I made my cake 2 days before serving it and kept it in the fridge, wrapped up tight in plastic wrap. Before serving I covered the cake with the remaining filling and used a fork to rake "bark" lines and then heavily dusted with powdered sugar. I'll post a picture. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was wonderful! Not as difficult as it looks. I the extra whip cream to do the outside and decorated with slivered almonds, powdered sugar and shaved chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States