Bucatini Pasta with Shrimp and Anchovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I decreased the recipe for one person and I LOVED it! I used 1/2 cup sliced zucchini and 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes. I also used whole wheat penne pasta to decrease the calories which also resulted in 1/2 cup when cooked. I couldn't taste the anchovies which I love so next time I will use more than three anchovies. Make this recipe without making any changes first; you won't be disappointed. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fabulous. I substituted frozen green, red, yellow peppers and onions for the zucchini and drained diced tomatoes for the grape tomatoes to use what I had in the freezer. The flavors of the seasonings with the anchovies were superb. I can easily recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was a delicious dish. I didn't have anchovies, so I in place of that salty item, I used chopped green olives. They played nicely with the flavors! I also used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh and it worked out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breeannestop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was soooo good that my husband told me I needed to get online right away and review it! It was delicious, light and healthy. I'm making it again next week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
SO SO GOOD! I used 1 zucchini and 1 yellow summer squash. I used one large tomato, then added a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I also added some sliced squid, which gave the dish another texture. Overall, absolutely delicious! You must not leave out the anchovies and anchovy oil. They make the dish! Didn't use the recommended Bucatini but rather salad macaroni, which is the same as bucatini only cut up into tiny pieces. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very yummy. I made no changes and Hubby went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Really, really good. Made as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I really liked this.... for both the flavor and the ease and speed of the preparation. I love onions and use them in pretty much everything, so I added about 1/3 cup of chopped onion (when I added the anchovy). I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and used 8 oz of whole wheat thin spaghetti, as there would be way too much pasta if you add a whole box. I think I will add some fresh mushrooms next time as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. Good flavor from the fresh veg and depth from the anchovies. Definitely a keeper. I had garden fresh heirloom tomatoes so I subbed those for the grape tomatoes. I also slightly varied the preparation wherein I sauteed the shrimp ever so lightly in the anchovy garlic and then removed them from the pan picking up the instructions with the zucchini and then tomatoes. Tossed in the mostly cooked shrimp at the very end to keep them from becoming overdone. My tasters say that this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was a great dish! I made it exactly as written, using just over a pound of 26-30 count shrimp. I'd never even heard of bucatini, but I managed to find it in the second grocery store I checked. The flavors were great, and I liked the variety of ingredients. The only thing that really seemed "off" to me was the pasta itself. It just seemed unwieldy here, for lack of a better word. Since there was hardly any sauce to speak of, it just didn't mix well with the rest of the ingredients. Maybe a smaller pasta, like penne rigate, would be more suitable, in my opinion. But that's a minor complaint, and I'll give this a 5-star rating anyway. I enjoyed this a lot, and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States