Bucatini Pasta with Shrimp and Anchovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was bummed by this recipe. I made the vegetable/shrimp mixture while my pasta was boiling, and it smelled and tasted so yummy! Then I added a full pound of pasta, and it was way too much. I strongly recommend only using 8 oz of pasta. I love this idea, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I really liked this.... for both the flavor and the ease and speed of the preparation. I love onions and use them in pretty much everything, so I added about 1/3 cup of chopped onion (when I added the anchovy). I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and used 8 oz of whole wheat thin spaghetti, as there would be way too much pasta if you add a whole box. I think I will add some fresh mushrooms next time as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was a delicious dish. I didn't have anchovies, so I in place of that salty item, I used chopped green olives. They played nicely with the flavors! I also used a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh and it worked out really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breeannestop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Really, really good. Made as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is a very nice combination of flavors and definitely one I will try again but with the following changes: replace bucatini with pennete or fettucini and use less of it (I like a much better sauce to pasta ratio), add about 8 oz of tomato sauce to give the sauce some thickness but not too much more salt. Thank you for a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
SO SO GOOD! I used 1 zucchini and 1 yellow summer squash. I used one large tomato, then added a can of diced tomatoes (drained). I also added some sliced squid, which gave the dish another texture. Overall, absolutely delicious! You must not leave out the anchovies and anchovy oil. They make the dish! Didn't use the recommended Bucatini but rather salad macaroni, which is the same as bucatini only cut up into tiny pieces. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
the anchovies give this a great salty punch - thoroughly recommended - thanks for sharing! Kath in London
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathjdyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chorley, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I decreased the recipe for one person and I LOVED it! I used 1/2 cup sliced zucchini and 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes. I also used whole wheat penne pasta to decrease the calories which also resulted in 1/2 cup when cooked. I couldn't taste the anchovies which I love so next time I will use more than three anchovies. Make this recipe without making any changes first; you won't be disappointed. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very yummy. I made no changes and Hubby went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was soooo good that my husband told me I needed to get online right away and review it! It was delicious, light and healthy. I'm making it again next week! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States