Bucatini Pasta with Shrimp and Anchovies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Fabulous. I substituted frozen green, red, yellow peppers and onions for the zucchini and drained diced tomatoes for the grape tomatoes to use what I had in the freezer. The flavors of the seasonings with the anchovies were superb. I can easily recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was a great dish! I made it exactly as written, using just over a pound of 26-30 count shrimp. I'd never even heard of bucatini, but I managed to find it in the second grocery store I checked. The flavors were great, and I liked the variety of ingredients. The only thing that really seemed "off" to me was the pasta itself. It just seemed unwieldy here, for lack of a better word. Since there was hardly any sauce to speak of, it just didn't mix well with the rest of the ingredients. Maybe a smaller pasta, like penne rigate, would be more suitable, in my opinion. But that's a minor complaint, and I'll give this a 5-star rating anyway. I enjoyed this a lot, and highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was an awesome recipe. Good flavor from the fresh veg and depth from the anchovies. Definitely a keeper. I had garden fresh heirloom tomatoes so I subbed those for the grape tomatoes. I also slightly varied the preparation wherein I sauteed the shrimp ever so lightly in the anchovy garlic and then removed them from the pan picking up the instructions with the zucchini and then tomatoes. Tossed in the mostly cooked shrimp at the very end to keep them from becoming overdone. My tasters say that this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was good, but I couldn't hardly tell that this had anchovies in it. I even cut the amount of pasta called for in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
What a disappointment. I was so excited when I looked at the ingredients. I had beautiful shrimp. My family said, "Definitely not a repeater." One of those recipes that looks pretty but has no follow through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was bummed by this recipe. I made the vegetable/shrimp mixture while my pasta was boiling, and it smelled and tasted so yummy! Then I added a full pound of pasta, and it was way too much. I strongly recommend only using 8 oz of pasta. I love this idea, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I really liked this.... for both the flavor and the ease and speed of the preparation. I love onions and use them in pretty much everything, so I added about 1/3 cup of chopped onion (when I added the anchovy). I also used a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and used 8 oz of whole wheat thin spaghetti, as there would be way too much pasta if you add a whole box. I think I will add some fresh mushrooms next time as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Really, really good. Made as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very yummy. I made no changes and Hubby went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
the anchovies give this a great salty punch - thoroughly recommended - thanks for sharing! Kath in London
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathjdyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chorley, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States