Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and we all loved it! I will make this when I ever I have left overs. My son said, he thought this would be really good with some grated cheddar cheese sprinkled across the top of it. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Fenton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Double or triple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by susu
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I read many of the reviews and realized that many of them did not "get it"... in England this is a way of using left overs so comments about how long to cook the cabbage or potatoes are really irrelevant. Its whatever you have so long as it includes cabbage and potatoes. I actually love it when the potato gets all sqooshed down because then it browns and gets crusty. The best bit for me! Even if I am using bits of left over ham I will fry one or two slices of bacon to get the bacon fat. If you have to follow a fat free diet so be it but 2 rashers of bacon between 4 people really is not overkill. My Dad used to make this and he would add a knob of butter too to add even more richness. If you want to keep the fat to a minimum make the mix into little cakes and brush the bacon fat on each side.... just enough to give it that crusty brown top and bottom. Brussel sprouts is amazing mixed with this and bits of carrot give it a sweetness. In our house this was part of a breakfast or brunch that would include eggs. The lovely runny yolk on the little cakes reminds me of poor mans Eggs Benedict!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I threw this together and loved it. Used thick sliced pepper bacon and drained off some of the grease. Gave it just a touch of heat. It was quick, easy, and delish. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Just made this with left over corned beef brisket. I added chopped celery to the onion and didn't use bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've never made it with Ham... just lots of bacon and cabbage and potatoes. The Ham does make a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Dean Houchin

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Powell, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Growing up, this recipe was always made with left overs from a Sunday night's boiled corned beef and cabbage dinner. No ham or bacon, just the corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm with the black sheep. It was ok. Since everything is about opinions/tastes, I'm not gonna knock it. I only thought it a little too bland. I had a party a couple of days ago and had a potato bar. I had tons of leftovers and exactly what I needed according to the recipe. The paprika, salt and pepper helped, but I suggest adding your favorite seasoning to help it out. I added pepper flakes, and a little garlic. I knew my husband would add some hot sauce to his. It definitely has potential and if you have occasion to serve a traditional meal, this would do the trick. Again, personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is comfort food at its best. I made it for New Years Day, to go along with our black eyed peas. My husband loved it and went back for seconds (which he rarely, if ever, does!) I made it in my cast iron skillet and it did stick a little, but not that much. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States