Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Just made this with left over corned beef brisket. I added chopped celery to the onion and didn't use bacon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've never made it with Ham... just lots of bacon and cabbage and potatoes. The Ham does make a nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamahabu
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Growing up, this recipe was always made with left overs from a Sunday night's boiled corned beef and cabbage dinner. No ham or bacon, just the corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm with the black sheep. It was ok. Since everything is about opinions/tastes, I'm not gonna knock it. I only thought it a little too bland. I had a party a couple of days ago and had a potato bar. I had tons of leftovers and exactly what I needed according to the recipe. The paprika, salt and pepper helped, but I suggest adding your favorite seasoning to help it out. I added pepper flakes, and a little garlic. I knew my husband would add some hot sauce to his. It definitely has potential and if you have occasion to serve a traditional meal, this would do the trick. Again, personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This recipe is comfort food at its best. I made it for New Years Day, to go along with our black eyed peas. My husband loved it and went back for seconds (which he rarely, if ever, does!) I made it in my cast iron skillet and it did stick a little, but not that much. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is delicious as is! However, it can be made a little healthier and still as delicious: To preserve nutrients otherwise lost to the cooking water, microwave the cabbage for 2 minutes to soften. To cut back a little on fat and calories, use a small amount of olive oil to cook the onion and microwaved cabbage, and bacon that has been pre-cooked and drained of grease (but don't eliminate the bacon pieces! It really makes the dish!). I also use a higher cabbage:potato ratio. Sometimes sweet potato, sometimes no potato. Another delicious variation is to use smoked turkey or duck instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I make this with a sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Yum! This is such a great throw together one pot meal!!! My dad came over and practically licked his plate! There was hardly any left for leftovers either. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My whole family enjoyed this, as did a visiting 4-year-old neighbor child, who declared "That was soooo good! I never had cabbage that I liked before!" I was looking for a way to use up some potatoes and leftover ham, and this was perfect. I boiled the potatoes (not too long) and then cubed them. I used smoked paprika. I also used maple bacon, I love that stuff. I like the idea of using Spam instead of ham; might try that next time. Accompanying it with fried eggs also sounds good. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States