Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Excellent! There was no leftovers from this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I was disappointed in this...my family wouldn't eat it. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I thought that this was great. I did change a few things.... 3 tbsp. butter, 5 pieces of bacon & I substituted 2 good teaspoons of Tastefully Simples Howlin Horseradish for the paprika. It really kicked up the flavor. My husband actually went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Made tonight for supper - a big hit. I took other suggestions, such as using shredded cabbage and cooking the bacon first, removing it from the grease while cooking the onions. Five of us, including two teenagers, polished off the entire dish. Thanks for a keeper recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I enjoyed reading all the reviews. In my experience, Bubble and Squeak is a tried and true British recipe that utilizes any elements of a leftover roast dinner - what my English granny called 'fry up'. A fry up consisted of leftover meat from the Sunday roast, combined with leftover mashed potatoes or sliced boiled ones and any leftover veg. A generous pat of butter was melted in a black cast iron frying pan and all was heated through. Bubble and Squeak always has potatoes and cabbage added to the remnants of Sunday's roast. Lashings of Worcestershire sauce were added for flavour along with salt and pepper. Some fry ups were successful depending on the combination of ingredients available but, for me, Bubble and Squeak always seemed tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Bubble and Squeak is a traditional English dish that is usually served on Boxing Day (December 26). Obviously, you can have it any time of the year, but the idea is that you smoosh up and skillet-fry together the veggies left over from the Christmas Day main meal, ie. peas, roast potatoes, carrots, cabbage and brussel sprouts. I know this because I have eaten it every December 26 for the last 30 years! It takes its name from the noise it makes while cooking. It doesn't smell especially wonderful while cooking, but the end result is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This was excellent. I microwaved the potatoes to save time. Also I waited until the bacon was almost fully cooked before adding the onion. I recommend this or your onions will be burnt. I did use a half head of cabbage but I think next time i will take others advice and use a bag of preshredded cabbage. All in all a fast, super tasty dinner. Thanks for the recipe Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was pretty good. My husband was very skeptical at first but ended up liking it. I used turkey bacon and sprinkled some mozzarella cheese on top after it was cooked to add a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This recipe was a wonderful way to use up my leftovers from our boiled dinner. In fact, my children finally ate their cabbage without any complaints. They all loved the flavor from the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Great recipe! This was my first attempt to cook this dish. I didn't have an iron skillet (which I will definatly get to cook this again). The only ingredient I switched was the cubed ham. I used lite spam instead to give it a little more flavor. As in previous reviews, don't bake the potatoes too long or you'll just get mush when you try to cut them. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States