Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
A win!! Even my 1 year old loved it! My husband made himself a sandwich, wouldn't even try it. I think it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Good stuff! A little hard to believe that it only has 164 calories per serving, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Hogue Sisk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My mother was from England and this has always been one of my favorite dishes. The bubble part of the name refers to the traditional boiling of the potatoes and the squeak comes from the sound the cabbage makes when cooking. This would have gotten 5 stars if it would have used leftover mashed potatoes instead of baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe. I had leftover potatoes, kielbasa, and brussel sprouts from a crab boil. I added some leftover mash potatoes, chopped carrots, peas and stirfried coleslaw with some seasoning salt & pepper. I used a little bacon grease to carmelize the onions and cook the meal in. Looks a little strange, but we can't wait for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My hubbie and I liked this recipe. My only complaint was that it took me about 3x longer than the recipe states for me to make this. If I has made it using leftovers like the tradition it would have gone a lot faster. The cabbage was great and I used one of the other suggestions and added a bit of ceyanne pepper. This is totally NOT a "healthy" recipe though so skip it if you are watching your weight. I will make it again however I doubt it will become one of my weekiy staples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My family loved this. Even my husband who does not like cabbage. He even had seconds and took leftovers to work. My 6 year old liked that he could put ketchup on it. I did have some problems getting it to brown. Overall a success. We will be adding this to our menu rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My husband says it's "excellent." Suits my husband's starchy taste to a "T," though it's way to heavy for me. To get it brown, I simply put the skillet under the broiler on high for about 5 minutes at the very end (keep an eye on it, though) and both sides came out nice and brown without any flipping at all. Used kilbassa for the ham, the bagged, shredded cabbage that everyone's recommended so far. Also cayanne and black pepper instead of Paprika, since we didn't have the Paprika on hand. Worth a try on a blustery winter night
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I had recently made this wonderful dish for our Harvest gathering of friends. It is also the English(British) equivelent of Colcannon, according to my Half Brit/Greek other half. Anyhow I started to prepare it according to the measurement in the recipe but I did somewhat double the amounts & also added one thing the recipe did not include and that was just a pinch of ground cinnamon. To my surprise, it was the hit of the gathering, and even my other half still raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This is great! Full of flavor. I misread the recipe and didn't have enough time to bake my potatoes, so I substituted frozen tater tots and it was a huge hit. Everyone requested this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
My boyfriend says this reminds him of home in England. I had never heard of Bubble and Squeak until his family introduced it to me, and though I just had to give it a try. It's now one of my ultimate comfort foods, and makes a delicious meal for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States