Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
what a tasty dish! i wanted it as a side so i only used the bacon. i did not have leftovers except for baked potatoes so i chopped rhutabagas and cooked in chicken stock till 1/3rd done, added carrots until almost done, and the added cabbage. the veggies sucked up almost all the stock so they they very tasty. i crisped bacon in a nonstick pan, took out and diced, poured off fat,and sauteed chopped onions, added garlic, then added strained and tossed veggies and chopped potatoes, the diced bacon, and chopped parsley, salt, and pepper. i drizzled on olive oil which made it down to the bottom of the pan and then smashed it down with a spatula. i browned it and used a plate on top of frying pan to invert and put back in pan to brown the other side. i then added a splash of balsamic vinegar when done. what a super combination of flavors!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe and easy! I didn't have ham so I doubled the bacon also I added about 1/4 vinegar during the cooking process. This meal was loved by everyone in the family, which is no small feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and wish I had spent more time reading reviews. I found 5 minutes not long enough for the cabbage. I found my large pan was not big enough to brown the dish in one flip. I think I will cook this again but I will modify it. As written 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Comfort food! Bacon and leftover pork chops make it wonderful. Will make again for family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I used red potatoes and red onions. For the ham, I baked a picnic ham and used the leftovers for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this not actually thinking any one other than myself would enjoy it. My picky son loved it and still talks about "bubble and squeak" and my daughters and husband liked it as well. It was easy to make and cost effective as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I think everyone is being a little tough on the poster. I have seen many variations of this recipe including those with east European origins. I think that this was created by "bare pantry items" when times were tough financially and ingredients were sparse. Like its "cousin" bubble and squeak was created as way of using up leftovers. There are many dishes that followed this concept during war times or the "Great Depression".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
YUMMY! I didn't think my hubby would like it, but he LOVED it! We both did! We wanted it as a side dish so I left out the ham. Instead of bacon, I used a few bacon bits crisped up in a little canola oil. I also used light butter instead of regular. My skillet wasn't large enough so I couldn't flip it over, but it didn't matter. It was still good stuff! Tastes even better with a little Texas Pete hot sauce sprinkled on top. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
A win!! Even my 1 year old loved it! My husband made himself a sandwich, wouldn't even try it. I think it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Good stuff! A little hard to believe that it only has 164 calories per serving, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States