Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was very,very good. My wife and I had read about this in an Anne Perry novel so we decided to try it. We were both pleased with the results. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great recipe! Simple and quick with great flavor. Since my husband doesn't like onions, I used onion salt and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
what a tasty dish! i wanted it as a side so i only used the bacon. i did not have leftovers except for baked potatoes so i chopped rhutabagas and cooked in chicken stock till 1/3rd done, added carrots until almost done, and the added cabbage. the veggies sucked up almost all the stock so they they very tasty. i crisped bacon in a nonstick pan, took out and diced, poured off fat,and sauteed chopped onions, added garlic, then added strained and tossed veggies and chopped potatoes, the diced bacon, and chopped parsley, salt, and pepper. i drizzled on olive oil which made it down to the bottom of the pan and then smashed it down with a spatula. i browned it and used a plate on top of frying pan to invert and put back in pan to brown the other side. i then added a splash of balsamic vinegar when done. what a super combination of flavors!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a great recipe and easy! I didn't have ham so I doubled the bacon also I added about 1/4 vinegar during the cooking process. This meal was loved by everyone in the family, which is no small feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and wish I had spent more time reading reviews. I found 5 minutes not long enough for the cabbage. I found my large pan was not big enough to brown the dish in one flip. I think I will cook this again but I will modify it. As written 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Comfort food! Bacon and leftover pork chops make it wonderful. Will make again for family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This recipe was excellent. I used red potatoes and red onions. For the ham, I baked a picnic ham and used the leftovers for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I made this not actually thinking any one other than myself would enjoy it. My picky son loved it and still talks about "bubble and squeak" and my daughters and husband liked it as well. It was easy to make and cost effective as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I think everyone is being a little tough on the poster. I have seen many variations of this recipe including those with east European origins. I think that this was created by "bare pantry items" when times were tough financially and ingredients were sparse. Like its "cousin" bubble and squeak was created as way of using up leftovers. There are many dishes that followed this concept during war times or the "Great Depression".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
YUMMY! I didn't think my hubby would like it, but he LOVED it! We both did! We wanted it as a side dish so I left out the ham. Instead of bacon, I used a few bacon bits crisped up in a little canola oil. I also used light butter instead of regular. My skillet wasn't large enough so I couldn't flip it over, but it didn't matter. It was still good stuff! Tastes even better with a little Texas Pete hot sauce sprinkled on top. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsTish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States