Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
4 1/2 is what I would give if I could. I did do some changes as I had no bacon. I applied what some other users had suggested and I sauted the onions in olive oil, I added roughly 6 crushed garlic cloves (for flavor) and I had mushrroms so I cut and sauted them as well. I used the whole head of cabbage and salt and pepper to taste about 1 cup chopped carrots as well. It was pretty good. I couldn't sway my husband over to the cabbage though so maybe the bacon would have done the trick? LOL! Very good and I thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was awesome. My grand dad used to make this for us when we visited England. I always make a traditional English dinner with Roast Beef, Yorkshire pudding, brussel sprouts, peas.... My hubby and I wanted something "different" tonight so decided to make this recipe and an Egg. We changed it up just a bit by adding Peas and Conecuh sausage (a southern tradition-smoked sausage from Conecuh county Alabama). It was Excellent. Can't wait to do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
A great way to use up leftovers from christmas dinner. You can throw in just about any veg so long as you have the right proportion of potatoes! I think the potatoes should be mashed, not sliced in order to be authentic, so that is what we used, and the result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I only had about a third of a head of cabbage and am glad because I thought that amount was just perfect. Next time I don't think I'd put in as much ham. We really liked this and would definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I converted this to a casserole, & loved it! Since last night we had roast pork, potatoes & onions, with roasted acorn squash & boiled cabbage, I made extra to try out your recipe. First, dice all the vegetables & potatoes. In a cast iron skillet, fry the pork with chopped bacon (once that was frying, add a chopped onion to it) and continue frying until the meat is browned & onion is transparent. Put all the ingredients into a large casserole. Make a brown gravy & add salt, pepper & other seasonings to it; fold into the casserole. Bake covered at 425 F. for aprox 20 minutes, then uncovered for another 10 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy but relatively flavorless if using something besides leftovers. Definitely use with full flavored, leftover ham for (I'm guessing) a better flavor. Honestly a little boring. Did not use bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I make this with mashed potoates and everyone LOVES it. Surprisingly wonderful dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I omitted the ham and bacon and used smoked Kielbasa instead. I fried the sausage in a non-stick electric skillet first and then added the onions and cabbage, cooked til tender and added the potatoes and seasonings to warm up. A super way to use cabbage fresh from the garden - delicious! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is such a tasty dish my husband asks for it regularly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I liked this dish a lot. I wanted to find a recipe for cabbage. It is very tasty and the other members of my family liked it also. I used turkey bacon and turkey ham and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States