Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious! Even my husband-who hates ham and potatoes-and my 1 year old daughter loved it. I made a few changes. Because I used honey glazed ham, I omitted the bacon so that the flavor of the ham was the main focus. I microwaved the potatoes to save time. I used olive oil to saute the onion (omitting the butter), then added the ham. Also, I doubled the paprika, added garlic powder and seasoning salt in addition to salt and pepper. My potatoes were a little dry, so I added 1/4 cup of water to the bottom of the pan, covered it, and let it simmer until the liquid was absorbed-about 5 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I liked it, but my family didn't, so I probably won't make it again. (I have some really fussy eaters!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
4 1/2 is what I would give if I could. I did do some changes as I had no bacon. I applied what some other users had suggested and I sauted the onions in olive oil, I added roughly 6 crushed garlic cloves (for flavor) and I had mushrroms so I cut and sauted them as well. I used the whole head of cabbage and salt and pepper to taste about 1 cup chopped carrots as well. It was pretty good. I couldn't sway my husband over to the cabbage though so maybe the bacon would have done the trick? LOL! Very good and I thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was awesome. My grand dad used to make this for us when we visited England. I always make a traditional English dinner with Roast Beef, Yorkshire pudding, brussel sprouts, peas.... My hubby and I wanted something "different" tonight so decided to make this recipe and an Egg. We changed it up just a bit by adding Peas and Conecuh sausage (a southern tradition-smoked sausage from Conecuh county Alabama). It was Excellent. Can't wait to do it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
A great way to use up leftovers from christmas dinner. You can throw in just about any veg so long as you have the right proportion of potatoes! I think the potatoes should be mashed, not sliced in order to be authentic, so that is what we used, and the result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I only had about a third of a head of cabbage and am glad because I thought that amount was just perfect. Next time I don't think I'd put in as much ham. We really liked this and would definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I converted this to a casserole, & loved it! Since last night we had roast pork, potatoes & onions, with roasted acorn squash & boiled cabbage, I made extra to try out your recipe. First, dice all the vegetables & potatoes. In a cast iron skillet, fry the pork with chopped bacon (once that was frying, add a chopped onion to it) and continue frying until the meat is browned & onion is transparent. Put all the ingredients into a large casserole. Make a brown gravy & add salt, pepper & other seasonings to it; fold into the casserole. Bake covered at 425 F. for aprox 20 minutes, then uncovered for another 10 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Easy but relatively flavorless if using something besides leftovers. Definitely use with full flavored, leftover ham for (I'm guessing) a better flavor. Honestly a little boring. Did not use bacon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I make this with mashed potoates and everyone LOVES it. Surprisingly wonderful dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I omitted the ham and bacon and used smoked Kielbasa instead. I fried the sausage in a non-stick electric skillet first and then added the onions and cabbage, cooked til tender and added the potatoes and seasonings to warm up. A super way to use cabbage fresh from the garden - delicious! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States