Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is delicious as is! However, it can be made a little healthier and still as delicious: To preserve nutrients otherwise lost to the cooking water, microwave the cabbage for 2 minutes to soften. To cut back a little on fat and calories, use a small amount of olive oil to cook the onion and microwaved cabbage, and bacon that has been pre-cooked and drained of grease (but don't eliminate the bacon pieces! It really makes the dish!). I also use a higher cabbage:potato ratio. Sometimes sweet potato, sometimes no potato. Another delicious variation is to use smoked turkey or duck instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I make this with a sausage instead of ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Yum! This is such a great throw together one pot meal!!! My dad came over and practically licked his plate! There was hardly any left for leftovers either. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My whole family enjoyed this, as did a visiting 4-year-old neighbor child, who declared "That was soooo good! I never had cabbage that I liked before!" I was looking for a way to use up some potatoes and leftover ham, and this was perfect. I boiled the potatoes (not too long) and then cubed them. I used smoked paprika. I also used maple bacon, I love that stuff. I like the idea of using Spam instead of ham; might try that next time. Accompanying it with fried eggs also sounds good. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was really good. I used a bag of shredded cabbage (cooked it as directed). I cooked the bacon separately and drained off the grease before adding the ingredients all together. I sauteed the onion in the butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Tastes great. NEVER use nonstick pans. (Unless you want cancer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPEANN
Photo by elfgirl1968
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great comfort food dish for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I would double the cabbage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUBBLES89021

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was certainly interesting but I always love eating cabbage and ham together and this was no exception. I did follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Wasn't bad. My picky dad had seconds and my daughter ate it all once she picked out the onions. Took a bit longer than 30 though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States