Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
We loved it! However, as someone who has recently been diagnosed with high cholesteral, I knew I had to figure out a way to cut the fat considerably. This is what I did. I used pre-packaged cabbage w/carrot shreds(wish I would have used the whole bag)and followed the directions of the recipe. I then used olive oil to saute the onion with a clove of garlic. After the onion was soft I added about 3/4 c. of diced boiled ham pieces and then I added about 2 TBLS of REAL Bacon bits.(I just could not used bacon drippings...even though I really wanted to!) I sauted a bit longer for the flavors to blend well and then proceeeded to finish the recipe as directed. I used margarine instead of butter. I added a dash of red pepper for zing. This truely is "comfort food" at it's finest. I feel like we kept the essence of the dish and got rid of a whole bunch of fat. Thank you for sharing your recipe Doreen!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
We really liked this too! My picky kids ate it up too! =) Thanks for an easy quick recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Used more cabbage, more potatoes, and added some onion/garlic powder. Boy did we pig out when this was done. Comfort food at its best and my boyfriend requests this regularly now! Thank you Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
LOVED this recipe! quick, easy, and rib sticking good! Also kids couldn't find too many veggies to complain about! Definitely a Friday night keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Great recipe--quick and easy! Husband doused it with Tabasco, 2-yr old ate it with ketchup. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was 5/5 with an exclamation point - the guys loved it. When I make it again, I'll do a smaller onion. They loved the name, but there is a reason it is called this! It may be one of those weekend dishes. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Super idea! I used turkey sausage instead of the ham. I found that the pan needs to be pretty hot in order to brown this nicely----you wouldn't think the cabbage in it would be too good, but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
I couldn't believe it, but the kids actually liked it. My husband and I watched our pickiest son, who hates vegetables, eat everything and ask for more. I still don't know what it is about this recipe that they like, but why question a good thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
It was good. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
We loved this recipe! I used a little more cabbage (1 bag of pre-shredded coleslaw cabbage) and a little more potatoes (cubed and cooked in the microwave). After cooking the bacon, I removed them from the pan and added the onions, potatoes, and ham to the bacon grease and fried them until the potatoes were lightly browned and the ham was cooked through. Meanwhile, I used 1/2c chicken broth to saute the cabbage. When the potatoes were done, I added the remaining ingrediants (including the bacon - and more of it) and mixed until heated through. Very tasty and my family wished I had made more. Very pleased with the result of this easy recipe and would make again. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States