Bubble 'n' Squeak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This is one of my favorite comfort foods! So good and so easy to throw together. Definitely not for those on a low carb or low fat diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This is a good recipe I had to add some spice and double the butter to get it to brown. My brother and I really liked it My husband and daughter turned up there noses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Excellent! This is the only way I could trick my hubby into eating cabbage (a favorite of mine). My only suggestions would be - 1.) Cook the bacon a few minutes BEFORE adding the onions (not together as the recipe states). Otherwise the onions get soft much too quickly and will either be too browned or too mushy! and 2.) Don't "bake" your potatoes too thoroughly. Not as if you were going to eat it then. Leave it a little crisp so that additional cooking in the skillet doesn't cause them to get too mushy. Also - I hate cutting cabbage so I used a bag of slaw mix that worked wonderfully! (I use that for all my cabbage recipes!) YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Real average. Real bland, without much flavor. It could be a good base if you added enough other ingredient (maybe salsa) to add some taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Fantastic- I peeled, sliced and parboiled the potatoes while the cabbage was cooking, doubled the butter and added 3/4 teaspoon of hungarian hot paprika, and it turned out great! Very spicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Great recipe. Had everything left over from a big family dinner and it worked great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Very good! I used packaged shredded cooked potatoes, packaged cubed ham, and I chopped my own onion and cabbage. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I used a non stick pan and had just enough room to turn it. It didn't really get brown but it didn't matter. I liked it with Texas Pete's hot sauce! Served it with jalapeno cheese bread mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
I love cabbage and bacon and potatoes and even ham! This dish just couldn't get any better for me. There is alot of chopping involved so to cut time, I bought the bag of shredded cabbage and a package of cubed ham. Please don't do what I did and think 'more has got to be better'. Just use 3 slices of bacon for 6 servings. As good as it is, more can simply overpower the dish. I did what some of the other reviewers did and served this with fried eggs. This really is comfort food at its best...especially on a cold, cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Not bad; my husband liked it. It's simple, but a lot of chopping is required. It's best to have everything chopped up first before putting it together. I added more bacon slices, around 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Pretty good, I used kielbasa instead of ham added some garlic powder, more butter, and served it with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States