Bubble 'n' Squeak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Very bland,I wasn't sure what to do to spice it up because of the sweetness of the cabbage. The whole family made me promise to not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Bubble and bland is what this should be called. I thought maybe I could be pleasantly suprised with this dish but was unpleasantly disgusted. Horrible, just horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Wish I would have read the reviews before trying this recipe! Really awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The reason this dish is so bland is that the sausage is left out. This is an English recipe that I have had several times in England and it is really good with the sausage. The cabbage is the "bubble" and the sausage is the "squeak".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I am SO glad I went ahead and took a chance on this one! Everyone was fussing. WHY? Turned out good to me. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Originally an English dish (Bubble and Squeak) and the name comes from the sounds the ingrdients make while cooking or your stomach noises after eating it. It isn't my favorite dish but this recipe IS better than the original THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Bubbles & Squeak has cabbage, mashed potatoes, onions and lots of butter in it and is very delicious! I thought I'd give this recipe a try and it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I am English & I grew up on "Bubble & Squeak", [recipe for which will be submited shortly]. The Bubble is the what it does, the Squeak is what is heard. There is NEVER any sausage in it. It was a way of using up leftovers & is normally a breakfast side dish. English breakfast consists of: Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Baked Beans [not USA kind], Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Fried Bread, some people add Black Pudding but not me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I grew up calling this Ukranian (or maybe Polish) dish "halushki", and it was made with bacon pieces and fried in bacon grease. It's fabulous this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
No, no no! Pasta? Sausage? You're stomping on the glorious British tradition of creating marvellous, heart-clogging messy soul-food recipes, then giving them names that evoke a dog's dinner. So please call this dish something else. However, if you add some garlic and red pepper flakes, you might be onto something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States