Bubble 'n' Squeak II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
The name comes from the noise it makes as it cooks. I grew up with this dish in England. The original recipe does not use pasta it is mashed potatoes that are used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This dish by itself was alright, adding mozzarella cheese and sausage made it quite tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
My, what a poor little beleaguered recipe. Although slightly different, it's not that much different from a dish bf really likes. I think his grandmother made it all the time. He calls it Cabbage and Noodles, though, so maybe that would make the naming police around here happy? ;o) I must say that this makes a lot of cabbage and noodles, and I halved the pasta amount. Cabbage is big. I thought it would cook down, and it did. Sort of. But unless you have a monster huge skillet and 10 mouths to feed, you might want to try halving this recipe. Or quartering it. I don't have a monster huge skillet and everything was spilling out of my biggest skillet. So I spent half my time picking up cabbage and noodles from the floor, stove, and counter. If you really want to be like me, I suppose you could and I'll take it as a compliment. ;o) Still, I'd reccomend a monster huge skillet or big pot for a full recipe of this. I'm not a fan of bf's cabbage and noodles, but he bought a cabbage at the farmer's market and it needed used. It's funny how he buys things I don't like and I end up cooking them to get them out of my fridge . . .but I digress. Back to cabbage & noodles. Yes, it's bland as written. Bf complained that I didn't fry bacon and then cook the cabbage in the bacon grease. Which is apparently what Grandma does. So try that and see if it's more to your taste. Other than that, bf ate it. So I'm happy. He's happy. Let's all be happy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
No, no no! Pasta? Sausage? You're stomping on the glorious British tradition of creating marvellous, heart-clogging messy soul-food recipes, then giving them names that evoke a dog's dinner. So please call this dish something else. However, if you add some garlic and red pepper flakes, you might be onto something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I grew up calling this Ukranian (or maybe Polish) dish "halushki", and it was made with bacon pieces and fried in bacon grease. It's fabulous this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I am English & I grew up on "Bubble & Squeak", [recipe for which will be submited shortly]. The Bubble is the what it does, the Squeak is what is heard. There is NEVER any sausage in it. It was a way of using up leftovers & is normally a breakfast side dish. English breakfast consists of: Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Baked Beans [not USA kind], Mushrooms, Tomatoes, Fried Bread, some people add Black Pudding but not me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Bubbles & Squeak has cabbage, mashed potatoes, onions and lots of butter in it and is very delicious! I thought I'd give this recipe a try and it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Originally an English dish (Bubble and Squeak) and the name comes from the sounds the ingrdients make while cooking or your stomach noises after eating it. It isn't my favorite dish but this recipe IS better than the original THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I am SO glad I went ahead and took a chance on this one! Everyone was fussing. WHY? Turned out good to me. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
The reason this dish is so bland is that the sausage is left out. This is an English recipe that I have had several times in England and it is really good with the sausage. The cabbage is the "bubble" and the sausage is the "squeak".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States