Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Yummy! Everybody ate it like crazy!!Great basic recipe for Jambalaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
This is a wonderful dish. I followed the directions and it came out pass my thoughts of the out come. i am preparing to make it for Christmas. It is such an enjoyable and easy dish to make. My family and friends was shocked to know i made it from starch and not from a box. thank u so much BUBBA, THIS DISH IS A WINNER. To those who are getting it not to their liking, just take it slow and follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
NOTE: If you want to have Perfect ( not mushy ) rice in your Jambalaya; You Must MEASURE ALL of the Liquid ingredients ( the Tomatoes Count as Liquid!! ) and be Sure that your Measure of Rice is at least half the Measure of liquid! ALSO; remember how your Mama Drilled into your head "not to open the pot after you added the rice because it would ruin the rice"? FORGET IT!!! This IS NOT JUST "RICE" , this is Jambalaya!!! You Have Got To Stir The Pot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
First timer on making jambalaya and this was the way to go!! I used Hormel precooked bacon bits (cuz i had em) with a lil olive oil then added my red pepper (allergic to green)and onions right to the bacon. I used the measurements listed here for tomatoes, broth and rice but eyeballed everything else. I left out the ham and also used chicken thigh with breast meat for more flavor. i seasoned the chicken with my cajun spice and shrimp with seafood seasoning before adding. it turned out amazing!!! I served with fresh Florida avocado which was delicious and helped clear and cool the pallet! Thanks bubba!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Wow! This recipe turned out spot-on for my family and received rave reviews all around (well, unless you count my oldest daughter who is against all things seafood on principle -- but I did see her get seconds so I think that she was complaining just to complain). The flavors came together spectacularly and the seasoning was just right for the family (I'm the only one that likes things with more kick). I ended up making the rice separately as I had some leftover from the night before that I wanted to use up in this dish. I also tossed in some shredded carrots along with the other veggies since I wanted to use them up. This made a great dinner meal and I'm looking forward even more to leftovers for lunch today now that the flavors have had more chance to blend. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! We add a little garlic, salt, pepper, and granulated onion. We also left out the shrimp and substituted Andouille sausage for smoke sausage. I am excited we made a gigantic double batch because it will be even better tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This recipe is a great starting place for jambalaya. It's basic and works well - I make this a few times a year when I have people over, and it's always well received (e.g. people destroy the pot and there are no leftovers). However, I definitely tweak the recipe for my liking: (1) I leave out the bacon (just use some vegetable oil instead). Too much of a pain, and you can't taste the bacon anyway. (2) Get rid of the 1/2 lb ham, 1/2 lb chicken, 1/2 lb smoked sausage, 1/2 lb shrimp. I use 2 lbs of andouille sausage instead (you MUST use andouille. It doesn't taste right without it). Some people like shrimp in their jambalaya, I don't. I find it too bright. (3) Technically, you're supposed to use long grain rice (e.g. Uncle Ben's), but I find it doesn't really matter. It tastes just fine with Jasmine rice. (4) "20 minutes" is BS. It's more like 45 minutes. After about 30 minutes, check it and stir every now and then. You'll know it's ready once there's no more water at the bottom (it's all been absorbed/evaporated). (5) "2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning" is also BS, unless you like flavorless food. I just put a lot in. You really need to use Tony Chachere's or Zatarains - the off-brand creole seasonings don't taste right to me. Generally, I'll start with something like 4 tablespoons in and a little bit of black pepper and Tabasco. The seasoning is really up to you. [Source: I'm from New Orleans and jambalaya is my dish of choice.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made a half-batch of this recipe, subbing a few meats around due to dietary restrictions and what I have on hand. Made with homemade beef sausage, and turkey bacon, no ham, and catfish in place of the shrimp. It's absolutely delicious, and I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Bubba, you rock!! I was catering a party for about 60 people, and needed a recipe to feed the masses. I came across yours and gave it a try. Bless you, Bubba, my guests RAVED!! Made a few changes with the ingredients I had-- I substituted kielbasa for andouille, skipped the bacon and ham and doubled the chicken and shrimp. Also used red and yellow peppers along with the green and used my own Cajun seasoning made from scratch. Best compliment of the night-- "I'm from East Texas, and this jambalaya is as good as anything I've had in those parts." I blushed and giggled-- not bad for a girl from Milwaukee, WI, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States