Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I made a half-batch of this recipe, subbing a few meats around due to dietary restrictions and what I have on hand. Made with homemade beef sausage, and turkey bacon, no ham, and catfish in place of the shrimp. It's absolutely delicious, and I will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Bubba, you rock!! I was catering a party for about 60 people, and needed a recipe to feed the masses. I came across yours and gave it a try. Bless you, Bubba, my guests RAVED!! Made a few changes with the ingredients I had-- I substituted kielbasa for andouille, skipped the bacon and ham and doubled the chicken and shrimp. Also used red and yellow peppers along with the green and used my own Cajun seasoning made from scratch. Best compliment of the night-- "I'm from East Texas, and this jambalaya is as good as anything I've had in those parts." I blushed and giggled-- not bad for a girl from Milwaukee, WI, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The dish turned out to be very mushy. Especially next day my boyfriend and I just couldn't eat it. Rice fell apart completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
It's so good! And the best part is that it can be made gluten-free for my hubby. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Really good! I only used chicken broth and it turned out great. Also cooked the rice separate, and added some sugar to give it a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Great recipe! Thoroughly enjoyed it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walt Grexa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Made this tonight. I really liked it. I used my own broth (chicken only), forgot the bacon by accident and threw everything except the rice in the crock pot for the day (shrimp last 20 minutes). I made rice on the side. It was excellent!!!!!!! Now.....I can freeze the leftovers w/o rice and not worry about the icky textured rice when defrosting! Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I love this recipe. The first time I made it I added all ingredients as directed. Because there are just 2 adults and 2 children, I had leftovers (which is a good thing). The ONLY reason I gave it a 4 star is the shrimp became very tough when I warmed it up, which is to be expected. So I am making it again this evening but leaving out the shrimp ;'( and increasing the other meat amounts. I love it leftover so I don't want to decrease the recipe, with shrimp, to fit just the four of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I am usually not critical but feel this is missing something.I would add 2 bay leaves and 2 teaspoons of dried oregano. "Jambalaya is differentiated from gumbo and étouffée by the way in which the rice is included. In these dishes, the rice is cooked separately and is served as a bed on which the main dish is served. In the usual method of preparing jambalaya, a rich stock is created from vegetables, meat, and seafood; raw rice is then added to the broth and the flavor is absorbed by the grains as the rice cooks."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States