Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I added crushed garlic, Worcester, and a little brown sugar, also cooked rice separately. Used 1 can tomato with green chili's,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this last night. Perfect recipe. This is the first time I ever made my own jambalaya. I did cook rice separately as suggested and added a small amount of flour to thicken sauce. I used a cajun flavored sausage. I will make it again with a different sausage. Didn't taste bad but had more if a kick than I was expecting (because of the sausage) and I love spicy. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by john
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
And some chili power to make a little spicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe, but I did not see any warnings about the following. When I added the rice, it sucked all the liquid up. Next time I'm thinking of putting some rice in each person's bowl and then ladling the liquid into each bowl. Did anyone else have an answer for this problem. Other problem, which is my fault, was I used a larger shrimp with tails because I did not have salad shrimp. The tails came off and some mouthfuls had these broken off tails in them. Not good. These are not the fault of the recipe, but I thought I would warn others about my problems. Thanks Bubba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Good recipe, changed it up a little to suit my tastes. I used twice the sausage, (recommend andouille if you can find it), twice the ham, no chicken or shrimp, a whole green pepper, red pepper, green onions and four toes of garlic. Used another 1/4 cup of each broth and an extra 1/4 of rice. To season, some tony chacheres, cavenders greek seasoning, thyme, fresh ground pepper, and lime juice. I also brown the sausage and ham in the bacon grease before doing the vegetables. Comes out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Cooking for a family of 8, I am always grateful to find a recipe everyone likes. I make this recipe almost weekly and my husband down to my 2 year old rave about how much they enjoy it! Since we are on a strict budget, I often substitute pinto beans for the meat in this dish and somehow it always turns out very flavorful and satisfying after boiling the beans with the veggies and broth. When meat is plentiful, this dish is great as well. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrianne Castleberry
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great recipe. I used Toni chachere's creole seasoning instead of Cajun seasoning and I omitted the bacon . I did add some garlic powder,crush red pepper, and salt. I also cooked the rice separate and I'll add an extra green pepper next time too. I'd also like to try it with andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJJ416
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Great recipe. I used brown sugar ham and spiced the chicken prior to adding it to the mix. I also used turkey hot Italian sausage because I'm a dork. I also added crashed red pepper and hot paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Thank you to the genius that put this in allrecipes! Every time I make this dish it's a hit! Yummy:) thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I never made jambalaya before but this was great. I served it with cornbread (made from scratch using a recipe I found on this site) and fried okra. The recipe says to boil the uncooked rice in the pot. Many of the comments say to cook the rice separately and then add to the pot, which is what I did. It came out great, but I think it would have been better to just cook the rice in the jambalaya because then it would have soaked up the broth. Also, adding the frozen okra to the pot 5 minutes before serving was an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States