Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sterling Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My first ever attempt at jambalaya and it was awesome! I skipped the chicken and diced some fresh tomato instead of canned tomato. I used bouillon cubes for the broth and slap ya mama Cajun seasoning. I added a bit of shredded cheese to my personal serving and next time will simply add some corn bread. My girlfriend and I absolutely loved this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adam Thornton
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
OK, here's how to solve the rice issue. When the vegetables are almost done, stir in the rice so it gets coated with the bacon grease. Then add all of the other ingredients except shrimp and cooked bacon. This way, the grains stay separated and they soak up all the deliciousness of the tomatoes and stocks. There's no need to cook rice separately - this is jambalaya, not gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
We don't eat pork so I changed the meats a bit. Used beef sausage, 1 lb. of chicken breasts, 1 lb. of medium shrimp and some lump crab. Used extra creole seasoning and an extra half cup of rice to avoid sogginess. Very good template. Friends loved it. Will make again and experiment more with the meats and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
We loved it! Very similar to good, old-fashioned jabalayas I've done before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very good recipe. ..my family has asked me to add this to the regular dinner rotation. ..quick and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was fantastic. I like a little thicker jambalaya so I used 4 cans of broth, 2 beef, 2 chicken, and 3 cups of rice. Also added 1teaspoon cayanne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used organic boneless chicken thighs and tomatoe basil chicken sausage with shrimp. Instead of tomatoes I used fire roasted tomatoe salsa!! Turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years as a guide for my Jambalaya and it turns out fabulous every time. Don't be afraid to experiment with meat ratios... I like a little extra sausage and use full size shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe! My picky eaters devoured it. This recipe can feed an army so I shared the rest with neighbours. All with rave reviews. I used farmer sausage because of availability. My girls don't like too much heat so I did cut back 1/4tsp on the seasoning. Here is a tip for the rice issues mentioned in some posts. Soak the rice for 5 minutes and rinse it well before adding it to the pot (something I learned from our exchange students). This removes some starches and speeds up cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States