Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Followed the recipe and had no problems with the rice! It cooked to perfection! My husband LOVED it!!! The only reason I give it 4 stars and not 5 is because it was not as flavorful as I thought it would be taste so added some black pepper which helped a little. It is still a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Loved it! Cooked brown rice separately in 4 cups beef broth plus one cup chicken broth and also sautéed 1lb medium raw shrimp separately then added with the bacon at the end. Also used a 14 oz package of Andouille sausage instead of 8oz. The chicken was leftover from a rotisserie and was great in this dish. Used a little chicken broth at the end to make it a little less thick. We ate half and froze the other half. I can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great and easy! Didn't have fresh peppers so used a frozen bag of sliced peppers and onions. Sautéed them with garlic and extra Cajun seasoning before adding to mix. Followed other recommendations and did not add the rice but cooked it separately, made it with half water and half chicken stock to add a little extra flavor. As I am allergic to shellfish, I used bulk pork sausage (whole pound) and chicken with the bacon. It was delicious! My husband said it was better than the jambalaya so we had in New Orleans! Of course the Cajun seasoning was one I bought when we were there !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Easy to make. I did not cook the rice separately and it came out perfect. I did not add celery. Added two bay leaves , 5 cloves of garlic, 3 Serrano peppers and 3 scallions to the recipe. I also used lard instead of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Amazing! I omitted the ham & chicken & used kielbasa & shrimp. I used basil & Cajun Dirt instead of thyme. I used brown rice & precooked it & just added it when it was done. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This turned out great. Complement getter. I didn't change a thing except for tasting and adjusting my preference for seasonings. Oh, ya, I decreased the amount of bacon grease by half and replaced it with olive oil for health reasons. My first review, it had to be this one cause it was easy and so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sterling Chef
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
My first ever attempt at jambalaya and it was awesome! I skipped the chicken and diced some fresh tomato instead of canned tomato. I used bouillon cubes for the broth and slap ya mama Cajun seasoning. I added a bit of shredded cheese to my personal serving and next time will simply add some corn bread. My girlfriend and I absolutely loved this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adam Thornton
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
OK, here's how to solve the rice issue. When the vegetables are almost done, stir in the rice so it gets coated with the bacon grease. Then add all of the other ingredients except shrimp and cooked bacon. This way, the grains stay separated and they soak up all the deliciousness of the tomatoes and stocks. There's no need to cook rice separately - this is jambalaya, not gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
We don't eat pork so I changed the meats a bit. Used beef sausage, 1 lb. of chicken breasts, 1 lb. of medium shrimp and some lump crab. Used extra creole seasoning and an extra half cup of rice to avoid sogginess. Very good template. Friends loved it. Will make again and experiment more with the meats and seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States