Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I never made jambalaya before but this was great. I served it with cornbread (made from scratch using a recipe I found on this site) and fried okra. The recipe says to boil the uncooked rice in the pot. Many of the comments say to cook the rice separately and then add to the pot, which is what I did. It came out great, but I think it would have been better to just cook the rice in the jambalaya because then it would have soaked up the broth. Also, adding the frozen okra to the pot 5 minutes before serving was an excellent touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This jambalaya was the best I've had yet. The recipe was very accurate my family loved it, I will be making this one from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VENUS2
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMB
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and my husband and I both declared it a keeper from the first bite! Changes I made: turkey bacon, no ham, 1 lb chicken, turkey sausage, petite diced tomatoes, 4 c chicken broth, no beef broth, no shrimp and added some minced garlic. I was concerned about adding the rice at the end due to other reviews, but it worked out great! The stirring seems to be the key, especially within the first few minutes. The Cajun spice I use is made by Weber, and 2 t was just enough. My husband usually puts extra hot sauce on stuff, but didn't with this recipe. We agreed that it's just enough spice for us, but would probably be too much for most kids or those who don't love spicy foods, so you might want to cut back on the spice in the beginning and add more later if desired. Thanks for sharing Bubba's recipe, FORDMAN88! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
you have no idea how good this stuff is. My wife and I were eating this for days and I still want more of it. The only unfortunate part is that I have to add shrimp separately because my little lady doesn't like it, but I make this in my cast iron dutch oven over a wood fire, and I'll likely not ever use a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
It's delicious, easy to add or subtract ingredients you want. I doubled it as is. I would keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Driedger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Wonderful! Cooked the rice separately, and poured the mixture over cooked rice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Excellent and easy! Followed recipe exactly, except used wild rice and cooked it separately until the last 20 minutes. Then I added the rice to the soup and finished cooking. Next time, I will decrease the rice by 1/3 while increasing the meat and shrimp by 1/3-1/2 ... I guess I would rather have more meat and shrimp than rice ...But the recipe is great without any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is a great recipe and super easy! With all the liquid it's more of a gumbo/soup type thing than jambalaya, though. I kept the rice separate and scooped up some meat with just a little sauce to eat it as more of a jambalaya. You could also just ladle some up and eat it as a soup! Yummy either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Yuuuummmmyyyyy! Cooked it exactly as stated. Lots of flavor!! Next time I may only put 1/3 of the rice in the pot, then cook the rest of the rice separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Quick n easy!!! My other half luv it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States