Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was fantastic. I like a little thicker jambalaya so I used 4 cans of broth, 2 beef, 2 chicken, and 3 cups of rice. Also added 1teaspoon cayanne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I used organic boneless chicken thighs and tomatoe basil chicken sausage with shrimp. Instead of tomatoes I used fire roasted tomatoe salsa!! Turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years as a guide for my Jambalaya and it turns out fabulous every time. Don't be afraid to experiment with meat ratios... I like a little extra sausage and use full size shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe! My picky eaters devoured it. This recipe can feed an army so I shared the rest with neighbours. All with rave reviews. I used farmer sausage because of availability. My girls don't like too much heat so I did cut back 1/4tsp on the seasoning. Here is a tip for the rice issues mentioned in some posts. Soak the rice for 5 minutes and rinse it well before adding it to the pot (something I learned from our exchange students). This removes some starches and speeds up cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Thank you Bubba! My husband and I loved it. Had it for dinner tonight. Used 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1 tsp pepper; 1/2 tsp paprika; and 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper for the spices. Even added large raw shrimp with the rice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ninzel
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
No changes and super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninzel
Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I added crushed garlic, Worcester, and a little brown sugar, also cooked rice separately. Used 1 can tomato with green chili's,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this last night. Perfect recipe. This is the first time I ever made my own jambalaya. I did cook rice separately as suggested and added a small amount of flour to thicken sauce. I used a cajun flavored sausage. I will make it again with a different sausage. Didn't taste bad but had more if a kick than I was expecting (because of the sausage) and I love spicy. Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE627

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by john
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
And some chili power to make a little spicer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great recipe, but I did not see any warnings about the following. When I added the rice, it sucked all the liquid up. Next time I'm thinking of putting some rice in each person's bowl and then ladling the liquid into each bowl. Did anyone else have an answer for this problem. Other problem, which is my fault, was I used a larger shrimp with tails because I did not have salad shrimp. The tails came off and some mouthfuls had these broken off tails in them. Not good. These are not the fault of the recipe, but I thought I would warn others about my problems. Thanks Bubba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States