Bubba's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Delicious! Made lots and can be kicked up a notch by adding more Cajun seasoning but I don't like spicy so I kept to the amount called for and had no problem. The only thing I did use different was diced tomatoes instead of crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I used an "extra hot Cajun spice" mix that we got at a local spice dealer, and then I threw in a whole diced jalapeno pepper along with the onions and celery. I thought I was going a little overboard with the heat and might regret it later. As it turned out, the jambalaya was not really hot at all. I think the spice proportions used in this recipe make for a more mild jambalaya, with the focus being on that crushed tomato flavoring. It all tastes GREAT and has a good thick consistency (I recommend stirring every couple of minutes after putting the rice in, to keep it from settling at the bottom which a lot of people seem to have had trouble with). But next time I will increase the amount of Cajun spice to 3 tsp and throw in a habanero pepper along with the jalapeno, simply because I want the heat to be more noticeable. Oh, also, throwing in a cup of frozen sliced okra about 10 minutes into the cooking process worked out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made this without beef stock since I only had chicken, and used more sausage as I didn't have ham, but otherwise followed the recipe. The rice took about 30 minutes to cook but that was the only change. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This was one of the best recipe I have tried. I think it was excellent . I made exactly the way it called for but I added some hot sauce on my plate because I like spicy. The rest of the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wolfie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
not too shabby. may or may not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
First time making it... It turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Took to potluck and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Bubba, you Creole genius! This is, hands down, the best jambalaya I've ever had. I deviated only in the number of portions, and now I wish I had made 12 instead of 6. This will be a regular in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Fabulous! I did take other's advice to cook the rice separately. I did have to tweak it a little bit based on the ingredients I had on hand, but not much, and it didn't affect the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Giles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Scaled the recipe to 6 servings, cooked the rice before adding it to the recipe, used 2 cups of each of the ham, sausage, chicken and shrimp. Will absolutely make again, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bubba’s Jambalaya

See how to make this simple Cajun classic.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States