Bubba's Best BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I used honey instead of molasses and 1/2 as much cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. I also used fresh pressed garlic and minced sauteed onions instead. Best sauce ever!! Going to go great on my ribs tomorrow. I let it simmer for a couple hours and is deliciously think!! With my changes it's perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie8484

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Spectacular. I used this recipe as part of a slow cooker recipe with chicken thighs and it was awesome. No doubt, it would work well with just about any meat. It never did get quite as thick as I like, but I may not have cooked it long enough. I could also have used a thickening agent like corn starch too. Addendum from 6/4/2011: I used this sauce for BBQ pork for sandwiches. I turned the heat down to below medium low and it finally thickened up, but took at least a couple of hours. Worth waiting for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Made this for a BBQ sauce loving friend as a birthday gift. Put it in a cute jar. Very yummy! I used habanero pepper sauce so it has a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Hey!! A while back I was cookin up a batch of ribs, and was lookin for a great sauce! Lemme tell ya , this is it! Great combination of sweet and hot, and the Carbonated Beverage added a nice touch...I however never used as much of the Beverage that the recipe called for....But the sauce was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ Crocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Port Hope Simpson, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This is the best BBQ sauce I ever made, and I made hundreds trying to find one that my picky hubby likes. He just loves it. I did not have enough molasses, so I made up the difference with Karo syrup. I also used cherry Coke and added some liquid smoke. After making BBQ sauces for 20 years, I finally found a keeper. Hats off to Bubba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Great tasting,not to sweet.I used a dry rub on my ribs that contained pepper so the combonation was prefesct.I have made my own BBQ sauce for years and this is better.Try it! You'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I will never go back to store bought..Kudos to Bubba. Impress your guest with home made sauce that will have them smileing as they wipe BBQ sauce off their chin. A+ !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
VERY good sauce!! I scaled to 12 servings to try out. I cut back on the chili powder by 1/4 teaspoon. I did not have savory so I did not add it. I cooked on low for 12 minutes. This sauce thickens up nicely when slightly cooled! Sweet, smoky and mild heat. I'm partial to Big Al's BBQ sauce recipe, but this is a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Wow, this is fantastic! I prefer a sweet/spicy rather than tangy, and I didn't have some ingredients so I made some changes. Used a 15-oz can of tomatoes, drained and pureed instead of sauce, used no molasses, omitted chili pdr, hot pepper sauce, ground mustard and cider vinegar. Added 2TB jalepeno jelly, pinch of inst coffee grounds, 3TB spicy mustard, 1 ts cayenne, 1/3 c. sugar and increased brown sugar to 3/4 c. This sauce is hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Excellent sauce I made it for a large family gathering (in Louisiana) and everyone loved it! I will be making this sauce many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgilham

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheffield Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States