Bubba's Beer Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made my own self rising flour. This needed four more ounces of beer than what was called for. I melted 1/4 cup of butter and poured it over the top before baking. This took just over an hour to bake IN A GLASS PYREX BREAD PAN. This was just okay. Two of us loved it, the other two didn't care for it. My oldest said it needed more cheese. NOTE: If you bake this with the butter on top, make sure you put a pan underneath to catch the drips from the pan. Otherwise, you'll have one heck of a mess on your hands. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Love this bread. Hardest part is having a beer at room temperature. I drink mine frosty cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfr610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hey Bubba, This recipe must be for yankees cause southerners eat "hog Jowls."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This has a good flavor, but the texture leaves a lot to be desired. Because of being cooked in a cast iron skillet, not only is there a bottom crust (good) but the top of this bread is hard and crunchy also due to the nature of beer bread, and that's not so good. I even buttered the top of my bread with melted butter before baking, and still wound up with a hard (though tasty) crust. I did like the addition of dill, because I'm always looking for an excuse to use more of that, but overall, cook this one in a standard loaf pan, so that there's less surface area of the hard top crust to contend with. (It'll fit.) The cheese was lost in this recipe; you need to either add more, use a harder cheese, or omit it and serve slices of cheese on the side, because 4 oz. cubed cannot be tasted in the end product (and adds another dimension to the whole chewy-crunchy-edges thing on all sides). Thanks, Mark, for a tasty beer bread that I can easily adjust to be perfect for my family's tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Top is very hard. I thought the bread would be dry. Actually, the bread was moist and had wonderful flavor. This is a very dense heavy bread. Not a pretty piece but very tasty for a home meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Good! Like Grannyloohoo I put butter on top of mine. The top is still super crunchy which I don't like that much. I added granulated garlic. I like the cheese in chunks. Used a good amber ale. Really easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This was a good, hearty bread. If you do not have self-rising flour, you can add 2 tsp baking powder and 3/4 tsp salt to regular flour. I do not have a cast iron skillet, so I just made this in an 8x8 metal baking dish. I couldn't really taste the cheese or the dill - this bread doesn't have strong flavors. But served with honey it was still darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
For a bread that is made without yeast, this bread is amazingly like a yeast bread. It was like a cross between a cheese biscuit and yeast bread, with a nice crunchy crust. The only changes I made were to leave out the onion powder and to use 1/2 cup shredded cheese instead of cubed. I drizzled the batter with 2 tablespoons melted butter mixed with 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and let the dough sit in the pan for about 15 minutes prior to baking. I used JW Dundee's Honey Brown lager. Very nice and quick change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Pretty good, super easy, it was a little bland for my taste, i would have liked it with a little garlic and spices. Also, mine did not rise very high. Overall it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States