Bry's Chocolate Lamb Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a keeper! The only changes I made were to use 1 can red kidney beans, and one can of garbanzo beans (because that's what I had), and used only 3 TBSP chili powder. So easy, so good! After I stirred in the tomatoes & beans & brought to a boil, I transferred it to a slow-cooker for 5 hours. I was going to garnish with crumbled feta, but we were so excited to eat it that I forgot all about the feta! Just the right amount of spice & flavor medley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaSally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Love this chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I made a couple of changes to fit the taste of my family better, and everyone loved it. First, I reduced the chili powder to 2 tablespoons. Next, I used a 28-ounce can of crushed tomatoes and one 15.5-ounce can of dark red kidney beans instead of the proportions in the recipe. I also drained and rinsed the beans before adding them. Finally, I used Hershey's Dark Reserve cocoa powder. I'm sure the recipe tastes good as written, but my family would never have liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I think I'm going to have to use lamb in all of my chili recipes from now on! This was good - very flavorful. The broth was a bit watery and lacked body so I may add a little tomato paste next time. Used one can of kidneys and one can of black beans, rinsed and then added one can of water for liquid. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The recipe was good, the combination of flavors was good but it just wasn't wow for me. I don't know if it was the lamb or the spices or what, but it wasn't my favorite chili dish (and I love lamb, so I was surprised). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. Went by the directions, except used fewer beans than called for. Would lighten up on the chili powder. Ended up adding an extra can of beans to the leftover before freezing for another meal, hoping that will calm the heat down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
How to make it without so much heat Fantastic chili recipe, rich and deeply flavorful. Works well with other types of beans: I've used black and it was just as delicious. I calculate 4 cups as two cans and don't have the "too many beans" problems others have mentioned. You can rinse the canned beans to reduce gassiness and salt, and just put in a little extra plain water. I am sure that if you can take the heat of that much chili powder, this recipe is great as-is. I cannot, so I used the following to substitute for the chili powder and flakes: 3/4 tsp chili powder, 1.5 tsp paprika (to give red pepper taste without heat), increase cinnamon to 1/2 tsp, increase cocoa to to 1.5 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and I thought it was good, but not great. It really needed some tomato sauce or tomato paste to give it some body. I am a big fan of Cincinnati chili, so I felt it could have used more cinnamon and cocoa powder as well. The heat from the red pepper flakes was fine for me but the kids thought it was a little to spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was a great and different chili. I had a pound of ground lamb to use and wanted to do something different. I added more onion, a chopped red pepper and two large stalks of chopped celery. I only used about 2 1/2 tbsp. of chili powder, but I added a can of Rotel. I also used a mix of one can of kidney beans, and a can of black beans, both drained and rinsed. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Halifax, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was a good chili with nice heat and the chocolate adds a richness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States