Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Nice and spicy. I added extra chillies and instead of a ready made curry curcuma, all spice, fresh ginger, ground coriader. had to add more water as and left the spinach out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
just cooked a pot. of course, i put in some of my favorites, sweet potato and carrots. has the right amount of zing without being too spicy. will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This recipe is great! I read the reviews that said it's not very soup-like, but I wanted to try it anyway. They're right. It's not very soup-like at all, but it's delicious. I prefer not to blend it, but instead just serve it over basmati rice. I ran out of cardamom on one occasion and made it without and it was still very good. It's got just the right amount of savory and spicy. If you like Indian food, you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
This was really tasty! I used a fresh chili instead of cayenne, doubled the water and added the juice of 1 lemon right before serving. Great meal, filling, cheap, tasty, healthy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This soup was an awesome base to start out with and add as you please. I used 1 cup of water and 5 cups of homemade chicken broth. I did not have basil. I tripled the spices except for the cayenne powder, and I substituted garam masala for the cardamom. I also did not have spinach, so I added frozen peas at the end of the simmer, as well as one cooked carrot. It came out spicy and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very hearty and very tasty - perfect for the cold weather! I used Indian Masala (Club House), and added some extra curry powder, chili powder and cayenne...it's just right for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum! made it as written first time. The next time,I used 8C chicken broth in place of water , 1/2 the amount of cardamom (personal preference) added a heaping Tbsp fresh chopped garlic and fresh spinach (10oz)in place of frozen..served lemon wedges on the side, did not put lemon in it. Be sure to stir often and keep heat low when simmering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
my classmates and i made this soup for cooking class. This soup is not very appetizing. it is too mushy and its hard to eat. i wouldnt recommend this dish. it includes a great variation of spices but theres not much taste to it other than that. my suggestion is to maybe not blend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was okay. I didn't care for it too much. I wonder if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent and extremely tasty though I had to add a lot more water to get it to a consistency where I didn't find it too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States