Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
OOOO! This is Goood! Prepared as directed. Nice and spicy. My husband loves it, the children thought it a little too spicy. I've tried three new recipes this week from allrecipes and this is our favorite. Thanks for the recipe. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was and is an amazing recipe. I did make a couple changes. I added more spices to give it an extra kick. I also only pureed half because I like texture. Also I did have to add more water. Soooo yummy, and healthy to boot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is an excellent soup: flavorful, colorful and simple. I made very few changes (fresh basil, more water and a tad more of each of the spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My Mum makes something similar, but this is easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I love this soup. It is not spicy, just flavorful. For the taste and ease of preperation I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was a very tasty meal...it wasn't soup...I didn't blend it and it was thick and yummy. Even my 16 year old son liked it. He ate it on toast and I had mine over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is excellent!! I added about twice the water and twice the tomatoes to make it more soupy. Mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very flexible recipe. I made it the first time as written. I have made it several times now and I have altered it a little. I saute chopped carrot with the onion and use twice as much liquid as recipe calls for. I also use 1/2 broth and 1/2 water, leave out added salt if using canned broth. I puree 1/2 the soup and leave the rest chunky. It's also great with fresh spinach thrown in near the end of cooking. Great flavor from the spices and makes the house smell great when it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was so good, I really loved it. The second time I made it I got a little adventurous with the spices and found an amazing secret ingredient - cinnamon. You should try it if you like interesting flavor combinations! I also didn't blend mine because I thought it was great as a chunky stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Perfect! Only thing I did differently is sub ginger for cardamom and double the spices... which even then wasn't quite to my taste....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States