Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is an excellent soup: flavorful, colorful and simple. I made very few changes (fresh basil, more water and a tad more of each of the spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very flexible recipe. I made it the first time as written. I have made it several times now and I have altered it a little. I saute chopped carrot with the onion and use twice as much liquid as recipe calls for. I also use 1/2 broth and 1/2 water, leave out added salt if using canned broth. I puree 1/2 the soup and leave the rest chunky. It's also great with fresh spinach thrown in near the end of cooking. Great flavor from the spices and makes the house smell great when it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very tasty. I recommend blending only half of the lentil mixture, because it is much more stew-like than soup-like. Also, I added chopped fresh basil to keep it fresh-tasting, served it with rice, and flavored with tamari rather than salt and pepper. Try adding 1/2 - 1 teaspoons each of tumeric and coriander for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was a very tasty meal...it wasn't soup...I didn't blend it and it was thick and yummy. Even my 16 year old son liked it. He ate it on toast and I had mine over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is nice and spicy- a good base recipe to play with as the other reviews mention. I added the juice of half a lemon and fresh spinach just before serving instead of the tomatoes. No need to blend either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I love this soup. It is not spicy, just flavorful. For the taste and ease of preperation I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was a tough one to give 4 stars to. It has plenty of heat, which is fine with me, but my wife couldn't handle it. You might want to cut back on the cayenne pepper to 1/4 teaspoon and think about adding a half can of coconut milk and, perhaps, a diced apple or two. That's how I'll make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grampa Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
OOOO! This is Goood! Prepared as directed. Nice and spicy. My husband loves it, the children thought it a little too spicy. I've tried three new recipes this week from allrecipes and this is our favorite. Thanks for the recipe. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent and extremely tasty though I had to add a lot more water to get it to a consistency where I didn't find it too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made this but used chicken stock/broth instead of water. Excellent. We loved it. Served with a dollop of sour cream. Spicy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States