Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This is an excellent soup: flavorful, colorful and simple. I made very few changes (fresh basil, more water and a tad more of each of the spices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This soup is so thick and tasty, its great for any winter evening dinner! I just added another 1 1/2 cups, i didnt have cardamom or cumin so i added more of the other spices. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
OOOO! This is Goood! Prepared as directed. Nice and spicy. My husband loves it, the children thought it a little too spicy. I've tried three new recipes this week from allrecipes and this is our favorite. Thanks for the recipe. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was a tough one to give 4 stars to. It has plenty of heat, which is fine with me, but my wife couldn't handle it. You might want to cut back on the cayenne pepper to 1/4 teaspoon and think about adding a half can of coconut milk and, perhaps, a diced apple or two. That's how I'll make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grampa Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Kingston, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is nice and spicy- a good base recipe to play with as the other reviews mention. I added the juice of half a lemon and fresh spinach just before serving instead of the tomatoes. No need to blend either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very tasty. I recommend blending only half of the lentil mixture, because it is much more stew-like than soup-like. Also, I added chopped fresh basil to keep it fresh-tasting, served it with rice, and flavored with tamari rather than salt and pepper. Try adding 1/2 - 1 teaspoons each of tumeric and coriander for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Because I spent alot of time on it, I tried it and it actually tastes pretty darn good. It is really healthy too, but my husband and boys didn't like it - so for the appearance and taking consideration of the flavor I even this out with 3 stars...sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and thought this was a great dish-not too spicy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
My Mum makes something similar, but this is easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I love this soup. It is not spicy, just flavorful. For the taste and ease of preperation I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States