Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
i added more water, and about twice the amount of all the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Add more water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Yum! I used 2 C. chicken broth, 1 C. water, and a little bit of lemon juice - per others recommendation. Also I didn't have cardamom so I left it out. SO GOOD! Awesome leftover too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was very good, but we ended up having to add way more liquid than the recipe calls for. I added another cup of water and it still needed more. I didn't want to lose the flavor by adding more water and thought tomato sauce would do, but didn't have any, so ended up adding a can of tomato soup! It was good and relatively healthy. We did not put it in the blender either, but briefly used the immersion blender. Also sauteed some carrots with the onions at the start. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
We didn't put it in the blender or add the spinach. All around a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
awesome recipe. i did read most of the reviews before making my 5th attempt at this recipe and realized that i should have stayed closer to home...should not have tried my gut instinct modifications. stayed true to the recipe with the following exceptions... added 50% on the seasonings as i am big on flavorful soups. as is with the liquid proportions, its very solid almost to the point of dry. ergo the comments about adding more H2O, but it is really, really good whether you add more broth or not...just depends on what you are hoping the outcome to be. enjoy!!! FIVE STARS. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
pretty good but the cardamon was a little strong tasting for me. I also added some coconut milk to make it not so tomatoeeee. I think a can of corn might be good in here too, after you blend the rest of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very good! I purred cooked the lentils before adding everything else in, then purred most of the lentils and then added the rest of the vegetables - so they wouldn't get "lost" in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very easy to make, healthy, and quite tasty; I highly recommend this recipe. It is also flexible, I added some carrots and celery that I needed to get rid of and the recipe accomodated the changes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
First time I cook it and its so tasty,light and sweet recipe. The only variation I made was to add more water and carrot with the onions. Great taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States