Bryan's Spicy Red Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Made this but used chicken stock/broth instead of water. Excellent. We loved it. Served with a dollop of sour cream. Spicy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So fast and easy. I changed it up a bit by cooking it in the crock pot and skipping the blender. I also added a chopped jalapeno as we love uber spicy dishes. This stuff is awesome on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
So Yummy!!! I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out sooo good, even my boyfriend who is super picky when eating anything heathly loved it!!! Will be making this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Sooo good! I love lentil soup, and this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I halved this recipe as we are only 3 in our family. It was absolutely necessary to add more water. I added 2 and a half cups of water in my halved recipe and it was still a thick soup. I also added more spice, but perhaps my spices were a little on the old side. I put it though the blender. My 10 year old son said it was the best soup ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was good, however, I think there was 2 much cardamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
very good! tastes like ethiopian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Nice basic lentil soup. I added more water, and might like to add more spices, but still very good, and pretty much along the lines of what you would get if you ordered lentil soup in a restaurant. It's true you could have it unpureed, but the flavours come out better when it's pureed as it's meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Hmm... just thought it was boring. I would not necessarily expect a lentil soup to be anything exciting, but it's called "spicy" -- and it is not. With the cardamom, cumin and cayenne I would have expected more. I even stuck the stuff through the blender - wasn't sure what that was going to do with lentils. It was OK; it certainly didn't ruin it, and I'm not one to worry if something looks a little weird. But it didn't improve it either - just made it different. I will say one thing for it - it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Really tasty. Unfortunately, I don't have a proper soup pot so the lentils keep sticking to the bottom! And don't have a blender either! - typically I prefer soups unblended. Despite all this :) I do love this soup - spices are great and lentil soup is always good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States