Brussels Sprouts with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
One sure way to ruin Brussels sprouts (or almost any vegetable for that matter) is to overcook them. This was perfect cooked for 7-10 minutes rather than 15. This is a good, basic recipe, made even better with the addition of garlic, sliced shallots,and crumbled, fried bacon. A little chopped, fresh, red bell pepper would be a nice splash of color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
We prefer the Brussel Sprouts somewhat less tender at the start...We add some crushed garlic, and just steam the Brussel Sprouts about 5 - 6 minutes....Then saute all in a large frying pan till they are crisp tender...Also, can add some halved cherry or grape tomatoes at the end and sprinkle with parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
My husband is not a picky eater, however, he does not care for Bruseels Sprouts. I made this tonight for dinner and he actually went back for seconds! Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Recipe was ruined with cooking instructions...to boil for 15 minutes. I took them out after 12 minutes and it was already overcooked. Otherwise the recipe has potential, but have had better brussels sprouts. Try sauteed brussel sprouts with garlic or shallots, add a little liquid (chicken stock or wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was really good! I used olive oil instead of butter and steamed the brussels sprouts instead of boiling them until they were fork tender (about 7-8 minutes). I also used sliced mushrooms instead of whole. Very tasty! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Very good! I really loved the presentation this dish made. Next time, I'll try this recipe using fresh parsely and real lemon. (I used dried parsely and lemon concentrate.) The mushrooms seemed too big to leave whole so, I cut into chunky slices, which turned out excellent! Thank you for sharing this recipe. 4/2/06 I made this again, this time I grilled this dish and used about 2 cloves of fresh garlic, canned mushrooms, no lemon juice, and seaoned with onion powder, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
This was very good. I couldn't get fresh brussel sprouts so I used frozen and it still came out good. Next time I will use less butter. I don't think it needed that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I was looking for a brussels sprouts recipe, and this was delicious! I used Olivio instead of butter, and used less than the recipe called for. I also used dried parsley, and stirred some halved grape tomatoes in at the very end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This was an excellent way to serve brussel sprouts. The presentation is beautiful and I will make this again for my family although my 3 year old would have nothing to do with it. I'll also make this for company as it is yummy AND pretty. The key is the FRESH parsley and and lemon. Do not sub dried herbs or bottled juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I added some garlic salt and thinly sliced red peppers. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States