Brussels Sprouts with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I love Brussels Sprouts and this was just one of many recipes I tried to change up the dinners I prepare for the wife and I (all of the kids are gone and I'm retired). And to 'Mdilloway' who stated that the dish was really vinegary and sour, what the !!!! are you using TART apples for in the mix when the sprouts are already a -2 on the flavor scale of bitterness. The tartest apple you would want to use is a Granny Smith. Next time, do what I did. Use the recipe for 'Sweet and Sour Green Cabbage' and you'll get great results. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
To the person who said"way TOO MUCH apple cider vinegar---that's because it called for Apple Cider--NOT vinegar!!! Just Sayin!! This is a great recipe!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was pretty good, but the apples were super soft. Maybe if you added the apples in part-way through it would be better, but then they wouldn't have the dressing ingredients on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This has WAY TOO MUCH apple cider vinegar. It made the dish very sour and the whole house just smelled of vinegar. I'd use half the amount next time. Because the vinegar overpowered everything else, I sprinkled brown sugar on towards the end, which caramelized. Then it tasted much better. Also, it needed 40 minutes, not 25. Maybe it's my oven (though other stuff I cook is okay) so have a little flex time. I used Pink Lady apples, which are tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made two different Brussel sprout w/ Apple dishes tonight. Both from this site. This one is far superior and flavorful. I am not sure why some of the people who reviewed this recipe said it was bland, because it wasn't at all. The only difference that I did was how I assembled it. I cut the sprouts up first and put them in the bottom of the dish. I then put the apples on top and mixed the remaining ingredients together and poured them over top of the sprouts and apples as a sauce. Put in the oven and bake as directed. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel DePaoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Great taste, easy to make. Be sure to core the sprouts, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Love this take on brussels sprouts! Made with a pork roast. The flavors were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
the apples just burned and the taste was really awful due to the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
The apples added nothing to this recipe-they were totally overpowered by the brussel sprouts. I was expected a little sweetness or apple flavor to enhance the brussel sprouts but nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These were okay, but a little bland. Hubby didn't much care for them. I'd probably give them 3.5 stars. They needed something, but I'm not sure what. More herbs, maybe? Butter? They also took a good bit longer than the stated roasting time and the sprouts were slightly tender-crisp while the apples were very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States