Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Wow! Yummy!! I actually didn't make this recipe on the stovetop. I roasted the brussels sprouts in the oven. They were carmelized and oh so good! Just put the brussels sprouts in a baking dish, almost cover them with broth (I used about 1/4 less than the recipe called for), bake for 20 minutes on 400. Remove them from the oven, take out the brussels sprouts and prepare the mustard sauce in the baking dish (since there is less broth, the sauce gets really creamy-yum!!), return the brussels sprouts to the dish and bake for about 10 minutes until the sauce reaches the right consistency. These were the best brussels sprouts I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Even my toddler ate them! The only change I made was to add less corn startch (based on reviews I'd read). Sauce was creamy and very flavorful. It was a great way to dress up often boring brussels. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEZEPP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Yum! This is the best sauce ever and tastes great on the Brussels sprouts. I also use it on artichokes and asparagus. I put in 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead of 2 teaspoons to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was so tasty! I used horseradish mustard and doubled the amount. Didn't have corn starch, so I substituted 4tbsp flour. Also added some chopped up corned beef I had sitting in the fridge and topped it with seasoned bread crumbs. I served the dish with buckwheat and sauerkraut - absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I tried serving this dish for Thanksgiving. The combo of lemon juice and mustard just did not mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Neither my husband or I are brussel sprout fans but boiling in the broth really did take the bitterness out of the sprouts - the sauce was tasty as well. Good with Corned beef & mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Whoops! Clicked too soon! Want to tell you that this is a totally wonderful recipe for brussels sprouts. I've always loved them, but did, in fact, always find them a bit bitter. I'm truly amazed at how sweet and tender they are prepared this way. And the sauce only enhances them; although I had to add more broth to thin out the sauce---but no biggy. Great, great recipe. I'll be having sprouts more often now! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Delicious but sauce was too thick...needed to add more broth, less cornstarch. Once sauce thinned out, recipe was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Very nice! I really like brussells sprouts and enjoy them steamed without anything added, but my husband, on the other hand, is not really a big fan (usually he will only eat one or two sprouts), however, after I made this recipe, he had two large helpings. I would also suggest to those who mentioned the sauce needed to absorb into the sprouts - try using baby brussells sprouts. I find these are ususally more tender and not bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious, definitely making this for thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States