Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Whoops! Clicked too soon! Want to tell you that this is a totally wonderful recipe for brussels sprouts. I've always loved them, but did, in fact, always find them a bit bitter. I'm truly amazed at how sweet and tender they are prepared this way. And the sauce only enhances them; although I had to add more broth to thin out the sauce---but no biggy. Great, great recipe. I'll be having sprouts more often now! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
What a great way to serve those dreaded-by-most brussel sprouts. I followed the recipe to a T. As soon as I added the cornstarch, it turned to paste. I did not have any more chicken broth, so I added a bit of water. Then tasted it and thought it then tasted watered down, so I added 2 T butter. YUM! This side dish was enjoyed by all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving this year for something different. It was a hit - there were no leftovers. I would make this again without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is about as good as brussel sprouts can get, IMHO. I'm not a big fan, but needed to add some additional veggies to my Thanksgiving dinner. I actually ate all my brussel sprouts, for the first time in my life. Boiling in chicken broth really does seem to cut the bitterness of the sprouts. I found that the sauce was rather thick, but added more broth until I got the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was so tasty! I used horseradish mustard and doubled the amount. Didn't have corn starch, so I substituted 4tbsp flour. Also added some chopped up corned beef I had sitting in the fridge and topped it with seasoned bread crumbs. I served the dish with buckwheat and sauerkraut - absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I changed it around a bit, used flour instead of cornstarch, lime instead of lemon (about three squeezed) and added Balsamic Vinegar to the mustard. Still, the concept is fab; my son is 16 months old and even he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Yum! This is the best sauce ever and tastes great on the Brussels sprouts. I also use it on artichokes and asparagus. I put in 2 tablespoons of lemon juice instead of 2 teaspoons to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Neither my husband or I are brussel sprout fans but boiling in the broth really did take the bitterness out of the sprouts - the sauce was tasty as well. Good with Corned beef & mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathietay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winton, Southland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This just wasn't to our liking. Won't make it again..and we all love Brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States