Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Delicious but sauce was too thick...needed to add more broth, less cornstarch. Once sauce thinned out, recipe was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I really, really wanted to like this. Perhaps I did something wrong. The sauce was very pastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Not bad. I thought boiling the sprouts in chicken stock was a great idea. Next time I will just do that and omit the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I loved this recipe and it really takes the edge off. I have made it for many dinner guests & they always ask for the recipe. Definately try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I changed a few things in this recipe, but overall it was great. My husband and I had never had brussel sprouts before, and we both really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Tuttle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Very nice! I really like brussells sprouts and enjoy them steamed without anything added, but my husband, on the other hand, is not really a big fan (usually he will only eat one or two sprouts), however, after I made this recipe, he had two large helpings. I would also suggest to those who mentioned the sauce needed to absorb into the sprouts - try using baby brussells sprouts. I find these are ususally more tender and not bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
We did not enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I agree that the sauce needs to penetrate through the sprouts somehow in order to make them more edible. Maybe cutting the sprouts into smaller pieces so they can be covered in sauce would help? Anyway, I enjoyed the tangy sauce but it didn't really improve the sprouts. UPDATE: I have been eating the leftover sprouts cut up with salt and pepper and they aren't too bad, provided there is lots of seasoning. 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
This is good, but I always add more mustard, and pepper. Otherwise I think the sauce is too much like cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
The flavor of the sauce really doesn't get a chance to "perk up" the sprouts. The sauce has promise, but would be more appreciated with something that got the chance to soak it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States