Brussels Sprouts in Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I wasn't sure if "prepared mustard" meant dry mustard. I used chicken stock I'd frozen from having boiled chicken. I am a lover of brussel sprouts, but this did not come out the way I expected at all. I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Hubbie and I both love brussel sprouts, and I'm always looking for different ways to fix them, but this will not be one of them again. Neither of us cared much for it. I wasn't crazy about the mustard taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXLADY3K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Helen
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great recipe. Lots of strong flavour. I served the with a lemon lime chicken and plain Basmati rice, YUM!!!! I've even substituted lime juice in this recipe, for an equally great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
good tasting recipe, but they still had the brussel sprout taste effect on my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Wow! This was a very delicious sauce - even my hubby who is not crazy about Brussel Sprouts loved it. And now I make it to go on other dishes like fish, chicken, pork and other veggies. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Even my toddler ate them! The only change I made was to add less corn startch (based on reviews I'd read). Sauce was creamy and very flavorful. It was a great way to dress up often boring brussels. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEZEPP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
People always rave about my cooking; I'm some glad I didn't serve this to guests! Not good at all! My only saving grace was that I tasted the sauce before adding the sprouts, which we love, so we didn't waste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Wow! Yummy!! I actually didn't make this recipe on the stovetop. I roasted the brussels sprouts in the oven. They were carmelized and oh so good! Just put the brussels sprouts in a baking dish, almost cover them with broth (I used about 1/4 less than the recipe called for), bake for 20 minutes on 400. Remove them from the oven, take out the brussels sprouts and prepare the mustard sauce in the baking dish (since there is less broth, the sauce gets really creamy-yum!!), return the brussels sprouts to the dish and bake for about 10 minutes until the sauce reaches the right consistency. These were the best brussels sprouts I have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
OK for sprouts, but I think it needed more mustard flavor. I had plenty of sauce-perhaps because I covered the pot when cooking the sprouts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Whoops! Clicked too soon! Want to tell you that this is a totally wonderful recipe for brussels sprouts. I've always loved them, but did, in fact, always find them a bit bitter. I'm truly amazed at how sweet and tender they are prepared this way. And the sauce only enhances them; although I had to add more broth to thin out the sauce---but no biggy. Great, great recipe. I'll be having sprouts more often now! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States