Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
#ONE HIT AT MY FAMILY POT LUCK.Added rosted baby carrots and 3x recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipes is fantastic. It can convert even the most steadfast Brussels hater! The only changes I made was adding about 2T of fresh thyme leaves to the Brussels along with the olive oil, sea salt and pepper prior to roasting and I used cremini and shitake mushrooms in the sauce. Everything else I followed just as the author posted. I would recommend this recipe hands down to any holiday meal or any meal for that matter. Definitely worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swan_Song

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are so delicious. I can imagine brussels sprouts haters being converted by this recipe. I did make two substitutions. I used half-and-half in place of cream and button mushrooms instead of criminis. (Both items were on hand and a grocery run was out.) My sherry was just regular "Dry Sherry", also. Normally I try to avoid a lot of substitutions when making a recipe for the first time, but I don't believe these changed the final outcome significantly. I loved the depth of flavor that roasting the sprouts added to this dish. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are awesome. They have a very good flavor and texture. We are not normally fans of brussels sprouts, but we liked these! They are even good re-heated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent! My favorite brussel sprout recipe. The flavors were outstanding. Roasting the sprouts gave them a unique taste and texture that I liked much more than boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
So it's fattening.. but yummiest brussels sprouts ever!!!! Got my 3 year old to eat them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This has been the best recipe that I have tried so far on this website!!!! The sprouts came out perfect, the sauce was rich and delicious, and it had bacon in it!!!!!! How can you go wrong??!! Whether you like sprouts or not, it wont matter, you will love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Sanborn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
A big hit for Thanksgiving 2010! Only thing I changed was using baby bellas instead of cremini mushrooms. A MUST try for any brussels sprouts fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I'd give this recipe a million stars! It is FANTASTIC! Made it for Thanksgiving dinner. EVERYONE raved about it. Made a double batch & followed the recipe ingredients exactly as stated (added 1 lb bacon for a double recipe - who could go wrong with more bacon?). Used the cheapest bottle of cream sherry from the liquor store (only $6). This is, obviously, not low in fat, but it's totally worth the splurge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner, and even people who don't like brussels sprouts raved about how good it is. A definite hit and most likely a new Thanksgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States