Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I deviated only a little, using half and half instead of heavy cream, and baby bellas instead of creminis, but I don't think these substitutions hurt the dish. I also used thick sliced bacon, and I think next time I'll stick with regular bacon, just as a personal textural preference. Also, I ended up quartering the sprouts because they were just huge, and due to conflicting oven temps for the rest of the dishes I was preparing, they soaked for more like 3 hours. In any case, they were delicious, easy, and a huge hit, and I'll definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
My boyfriend liked this, so I'm giving it a four. Its not a five since it hasn't changed my mind in not liking brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my family, dispite the smell. We've never had brussel sprouts before so this was a nice recipe to ease everyone into a new veg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Delicious!! My whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this was excellent. took it to a tapas potluck and everyone really liked it. didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe is great!!! My whole family loved it, and it was quite easy to do... only drawback for me was lots of dishes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
OMG – indescribably delicious. I don’t generally succumb to hyperbole but this recipe warrants the excess. Of course, I made changes… I didn’t have bacon, I had sausage. I had two small turnips and so I sliced them up and they got roasted along with the Brussels sprouts. I likened it to stroganoff for Brussels sprouts and turnips. Can’t wait to try it with bacon. Or pancetta. And maybe carrots – or whatever vegetable that can be roasted. Carrots, parsnips, maybe even squash…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Loved these. Use a good quality bacon and there will be no grease to drain. I had to substitute apple cider vinegar and water for the sherry. It's a nice delicate sauce for the sprouts. Make sure you put your sprouts face side down or they will dry out completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Perfect!! Made them for company and they LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have a whole bottle of cream sherry that I had no idea what to do with....and found this recipe, very good! Cream Sherry is such an interesting flavor, combined with the bacon, cream and mushrooms, it's even better! This sauce would taste good with any kind of green veggie, or maybe pasta?! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States