Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I've had many people decide they like Brussels sprouts after all but only when made this way. I only soak them for about 10 minutes because they don't steam as much when you roast them so they come out a little crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a fabulous dish! I cut off some of the fat prior to frying the bacon. I used what was left in which to cook the rest. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDolceVita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Since Turkey Day is most definitely NOT about cutting calories, this is what I did. Made it easier and EVEN TASTIER! Instead of olive oil, used some leftover sausage/bacon grease from the stuffing in the skillet. Just added the brusses to the skillet with the grease and roasted them right there. Also, I added about a tablespoon or two of brown sugar to the salt and pepper to toss. When they're done roasting, dump them in a bowl and cook the sauce in the same skillet. Tasty + lazy bonus= DECADENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Moffitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving to rave reviews, and it is now mandatory for all holiday meals. Frankly, I was surprised because we've got some very picky eaters in the family, and I really thought I was taking a risk the first time I made it. I follow the recipe exactly though I use the increase it to 12 servings, and though there are only 7 of us, there are never any leftovers. I do use a nitrate free bacon which is more like a Spanish bacon or pancetta than traditional hickory smoked American bacon. The combination of flavors is incredible - the slightly bitter Brussels sprouts (the salt water soak really helps), the sweet and savory sauce with the cream sherry and bacon, just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Got my two young boys and husband to eat brussel sprouts! Success! Made it dairy free by substituting the cream sherry with sherry and heavy cream with coconut milk. Was great for a gluten and dairy free side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was amazing. I actually thawed a bag of frozen sprouts and then halved them. Made it w/o mushrooms and used regular sherry and heavy whipping cream. Came out phenomenal. I don't usually change recipes that I find in any way. I like to try them out just like the cook made it first, but I had to use what I had at home, glad it worked out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Super tasty- however, as others have mentioned, drain off the majority of bacon grease before adding shallot (or in my case onion) and garlic. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
PHENOMENAL!! The first time I tried this, I was in a pinch & used frozen Brussels &, though it was tasty, it was a tad mushy for my liking so I prefer to stick to raw/fresh now. Draining the bacon grease is blasphemous... don't do it... it's needed to sauté & season the mushrooms & shallot. On a side note, Criminis are also labeled Baby Bellas so don't think you're cheating if you just wanna deal with Wal*Mart's baby bellas ;) If you're sauce isn't thickening, you're not letting it heat long enough...just keep it on Medium & it will reduce...have patience. I always double the sherry & cream amounts simply because I'm a saucy gal ;) I've also used sweet red wine when I don't have cream sherry and it's still good though not QUITE as good as the sherry. I'm in love with this recipe! Thank you so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Being that my husband and I are/were both skeptical about brussel sprouts, I have to say this recipe and sauce were amazing. I used baby bella mushrooms and followed others recommendations to roast 10 min, flip over and roast another 10 so they were not too aldente'. This is definitely going to be in my normal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States