Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Fantastic recipe. Like others, I doubled the sauce, but could have used even more. It was wonderful served over basmati rice. To thicken it up a little faster, I added a touch of grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I was cooking a lot of bacon for another dish I was making. I simple kept 1-2TBS of the bacon drippings to sauté the shallots, mushrooms and garlic. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was very good, first few bites..... needed something to keep my attention though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made on Christmas and was requested again on New Years! I added Carrots to the dish, and doubled the sauce with more cream - was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I first made this 3 years ago for Thanksgiving. I have served them several times since. This is a recipe people will talk about. Simply DELICIOUS!! I didn't make any changes as it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
this was delicious!!And easy.cant wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Decided on this recipe since my oven was already taken up with a roast. I soaked, seasoned and roasted the sprouts earlier in the afternoon then about 20 minutes prior to dinner, started the sauce, reheating the pre-roasted sprouts in the pan. Wow, what a wonderful way to serve sprouts!! I left out the mushrooms as we were having mushrooms as a side dish and unfortunately the sherry I though I had was marsala wine but even my Brussel sprout hating daughter ("I though you loved us!" she said when I told her this was on the menu, lol!) ended up going back for a second helping. Perfect side dish that impresses!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I've had many people decide they like Brussels sprouts after all but only when made this way. I only soak them for about 10 minutes because they don't steam as much when you roast them so they come out a little crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a fabulous dish! I cut off some of the fat prior to frying the bacon. I used what was left in which to cook the rest. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Notes for newcomers: -Cremini Mushrooms are also known as "Baby Portabella Mushrooms." Only the eccentric and needlessly-difficult call it that anymore. -Cream Sherry is probably not available at your local grocery store. Best go to a package store for it. -Get the small sprouts. Larger ones tend to be more bitter. -It's vitally important that you cut the Brussels Sprouts in half AND remove the green outer skin. When you soak them in the salt water, it'll better get rid of that bitter flavor that hides in Brussels like a landmine waiting to kill. Overall I really liked this dish. The salt water bath really works wonders. The sauce for this is phenomenal. Its aroma attracts even the most antagonistic of Brussels eaters. However thanks to the very nature of Brussels Sprouts you must be careful of the ones that retain their bitterness. Most seasoned eaters are aware and have accepted this as part of the package, but your average eater shouldn't have to deal with that. If you have picky eaters, might as well prepare something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States