Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Awesome recipe. I've had many people decide they like Brussels sprouts after all but only when made this way. I only soak them for about 10 minutes because they don't steam as much when you roast them so they come out a little crisper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a fabulous dish! I cut off some of the fat prior to frying the bacon. I used what was left in which to cook the rest. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Notes for newcomers: -Cremini Mushrooms are also known as "Baby Portabella Mushrooms." Only the eccentric and needlessly-difficult call it that anymore. -Cream Sherry is probably not available at your local grocery store. Best go to a package store for it. -Get the small sprouts. Larger ones tend to be more bitter. -It's vitally important that you cut the Brussels Sprouts in half AND remove the green outer skin. When you soak them in the salt water, it'll better get rid of that bitter flavor that hides in Brussels like a landmine waiting to kill. Overall I really liked this dish. The salt water bath really works wonders. The sauce for this is phenomenal. Its aroma attracts even the most antagonistic of Brussels eaters. However thanks to the very nature of Brussels Sprouts you must be careful of the ones that retain their bitterness. Most seasoned eaters are aware and have accepted this as part of the package, but your average eater shouldn't have to deal with that. If you have picky eaters, might as well prepare something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Way too greasy. I tried another recipe that called for roasting them with just kosher salt and fresh ground pepper and it was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Since Turkey Day is most definitely NOT about cutting calories, this is what I did. Made it easier and EVEN TASTIER! Instead of olive oil, used some leftover sausage/bacon grease from the stuffing in the skillet. Just added the brusses to the skillet with the grease and roasted them right there. Also, I added about a tablespoon or two of brown sugar to the salt and pepper to toss. When they're done roasting, dump them in a bowl and cook the sauce in the same skillet. Tasty + lazy bonus= DECADENT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Moffitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this last Thanksgiving to rave reviews, and it is now mandatory for all holiday meals. Frankly, I was surprised because we've got some very picky eaters in the family, and I really thought I was taking a risk the first time I made it. I follow the recipe exactly though I use the increase it to 12 servings, and though there are only 7 of us, there are never any leftovers. I do use a nitrate free bacon which is more like a Spanish bacon or pancetta than traditional hickory smoked American bacon. The combination of flavors is incredible - the slightly bitter Brussels sprouts (the salt water soak really helps), the sweet and savory sauce with the cream sherry and bacon, just yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Got my two young boys and husband to eat brussel sprouts! Success! Made it dairy free by substituting the cream sherry with sherry and heavy cream with coconut milk. Was great for a gluten and dairy free side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was amazing. I actually thawed a bag of frozen sprouts and then halved them. Made it w/o mushrooms and used regular sherry and heavy whipping cream. Came out phenomenal. I don't usually change recipes that I find in any way. I like to try them out just like the cook made it first, but I had to use what I had at home, glad it worked out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Super tasty- however, as others have mentioned, drain off the majority of bacon grease before adding shallot (or in my case onion) and garlic. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutton Chop Begay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
PHENOMENAL!! The first time I tried this, I was in a pinch & used frozen Brussels &, though it was tasty, it was a tad mushy for my liking so I prefer to stick to raw/fresh now. Draining the bacon grease is blasphemous... don't do it... it's needed to sauté & season the mushrooms & shallot. On a side note, Criminis are also labeled Baby Bellas so don't think you're cheating if you just wanna deal with Wal*Mart's baby bellas ;) If you're sauce isn't thickening, you're not letting it heat long enough...just keep it on Medium & it will reduce...have patience. I always double the sherry & cream amounts simply because I'm a saucy gal ;) I've also used sweet red wine when I don't have cream sherry and it's still good though not QUITE as good as the sherry. I'm in love with this recipe! Thank you so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States