Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Super tasty- however, as others have mentioned, drain off the majority of bacon grease before adding shallot (or in my case onion) and garlic. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
PHENOMENAL!! The first time I tried this, I was in a pinch & used frozen Brussels &, though it was tasty, it was a tad mushy for my liking so I prefer to stick to raw/fresh now. Draining the bacon grease is blasphemous... don't do it... it's needed to sauté & season the mushrooms & shallot. On a side note, Criminis are also labeled Baby Bellas so don't think you're cheating if you just wanna deal with Wal*Mart's baby bellas ;) If you're sauce isn't thickening, you're not letting it heat long enough...just keep it on Medium & it will reduce...have patience. I always double the sherry & cream amounts simply because I'm a saucy gal ;) I've also used sweet red wine when I don't have cream sherry and it's still good though not QUITE as good as the sherry. I'm in love with this recipe! Thank you so much for providing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Being that my husband and I are/were both skeptical about brussel sprouts, I have to say this recipe and sauce were amazing. I used baby bella mushrooms and followed others recommendations to roast 10 min, flip over and roast another 10 so they were not too aldente'. This is definitely going to be in my normal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Sooooo good! Next time, I would skip soaking the sprouts for 1 hour as we found no noticeable change in taste. If wanting softer sprouts versus crunchier ones, soaking for 10-15 minutes is sufficient. The extra moisture creates steam while oven roasting. Roasting is what gives sprouts a sweeter flavor than when they’re sauteed, steamed, or boiled. Overcooking sprouts will release a sulfur compound (glucosinolates), producing an unpleasant smell and flavor that contributes to why people dislike this veggie. Having no cream sherry, paired equal parts oloroso sherry & semi secco marsala thereby tempering the sweetness of the sauce a bit. The sherry bacon cream sauce is so darn good that it’s hard to resist eating it straight from the pan. A great dish for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Have to admit, I was worried. The roasting sprouts put out an awful odor, so much so, I shut the oven off and good thing because they were done in half the time. I just kept thinking next time I am boiling them, BUT, in the end it was worth it, they made the dish beautiful being browned and the cream sauce delicious. I grew a love for sherry. I felt it came out a very fancy dish and will make again on the holidays. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is an absolutely scrumptious, restaurant quality recipe for Brussels sprouts. I made it for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I savored the leftovers which only became more flavorful the next day. I added lots of mushrooms, a bit more than called for. I'd like to try it with milk instead of the heavy cream to cut down on calories. I didn't have the sherry, so I added a bit of red wine. Best recipe ever for Brussels sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very yummy. People who don't even dig brussels sprouts, loved this side dish. I substituted port wine for cream sherry. This compliments the "Beef Tenderloin With Roasted Shallots" recipe also on this site (which also uses port wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
If I could give this recipe more than 5 stars I would! Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
If there were more stars I'd use them too. This is delicious My family doesn't "do" green food in general especially things like Brussel sprouts. Now they ask me to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States