Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
WOW ... 5 stars for a Brussel Sprouts recipe? Great dish. I prepared this for guests last night. I didn't know how they felt about B/S's so I prepared another vegetable side dish as well ... the Sprouts were GONE ..... everyone really complimented the flavor. As is typical I followed the recipe for my first time making it ... no sense in rating a recipe that you've changed!!! The only things I will do differently next time are: 1) skip the butter on top 2) put the bacon pieces on top, not mixed in 3) broil for about 3 minutes at the end. Try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have made this recipe for years and it has always been a favorite. I crumble the bacon on the top instead of mixing it with the sprouts. I also leave off the extra butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Brussel Sprouts! Son LOVES them. Hubby HATES them. Made this Thanksgiving. Hubby ate a small serving to please me. then he ate 2 more to please himself. Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I have a favorite Brussels sprouts recipe that uses pecans and lemon juice but tried this one instead. So glad I did. I tweaked it a bit by adding carrots which I boiled with the sprouts, for color and because I like them! I added minced garlic to the cooked bacon in the pan and briefly sauteed before adding the vegetables. Also, I used gluten free breadcrumbs and less than half of the butter. Normally I don't cook with heavy cream and was pleasantly surprised when it created a creamy glaze that mellowed the flavor of the Brussels. Oh, and I added a good sprinkle of nutmeg with the salt & pepper. It came out wonderful and I'll be making it for Thanksgiving. Big thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Really great. I actually used frozen (cooked al dente) brussels sprouts, since they aren't in season here. I also layered the ingredients...I put half of the sprouts, half of the bacon, etc., etc., and just repeated the layers. Everyone LOVED it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grinnell, Iowa, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My store didn't have either fresh or frozen brussels sprouts, and I had my heart set on trying this recipe, so I used broccoli in place of brussels sprouts. It was delicious. My husband wants me to make it this way in the future, but I like brussels sprouts even more than broccoli, so I can't wait to try it that way. Other than the broccoli, I made it exactly as the recipe called for. UPDATE: I made this for Easter using Brussels sprouts. It was sooo delicious. I doubled the bacon and mixed half of it in with the Brussels sprouts and sprinkled the other half to top of the bread crumbs and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter and was very happy with how it turned out! I tried it because I had made a zucchini gratin by Ina Garten that was delicious and thought this sounded equally good. I did make a few changes, but think the recipe would be good as is too. I sauteed frozen brussels sprouts in butter, then added some salt, pepper and a dash of nutmeg, then the cream. I put the bacon, bread crumbs and parmesan on top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was good. Some of the brussel sprouts got kind of mushy. I'm not sure if I cooked them to long or if it's because I used frozen rather than fresh. Next time I might try adding some more flavors like garlic or onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Camensky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Out of 3 different brussel sprout recipes we've tried this week, this was , hands down, the favorite by brussel sprout lovers. Non-brussel sprout lovers didn't like any of them:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I hate Brussels sprouts and this was AMAZING! I brought more Brussels sprouts just to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States