Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This dish is best served once as I found leftovers weren't as bright as when originally served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Loved it! I even "lightened" it by cooking the bacon in the microwave (draining the grease on paper towels) and using just a little bacon grease in the baking pan. I substituted the 1/2 cup of heavy cream with 1/4 c. sour cream and 1/4 c. nonfat Greek yogurt cutting 80 calories per serving. The best part, my kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it!! Even people who said they hated brussels sprouts ate it. My mom made me make it again a couple days later. Really really good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Good recipe...simple with minimal ingredients. If you have nice small brussel sprouts, that is the key to your dish. Larger ones are bitter. Cooking method is good. Made for thanksgiving and everyone who liked brussel sprouts liked it. The only thing missing was the need for more butter. I doubled the recipe as I had tons of fresh garden brussel sprouts, but there needs to be much more butter to enhance the flavor. That's really the only missing element...otherwise there is no butter. I'd put 1/4 cup or so atop or mixed in with the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was great! After reading a few reviews, I was ready to begin. Usually, I'm not fond of brussles sprouts but I am learning it makes quite a difference in how they are prepared. I chunked up half a lemon and boiled it with the sprouts to help with the bitterness and it added a lot of flavour as well. To get the tasty bits off the bottom of my cast iron saute pan (bacon and 2 cloves of minced garlic), I splashed in a little pinot grigio and then tossed the cooked, halved sprouts in the pan. After that, I followed the recipe as is and WOW! Simple, fresh, delicious!! Will certainly be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my family....I like to make different recipes with my vegetables....you must try this...it's rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Awesome. Definitely worth the effort. I added fresh carrots, and used turkey bacon. Yum. Yum. Yum. Worthy of company, worthy of family, worthy of eating alone on the couch while watching trash TV. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
My store didn't have either fresh or frozen brussels sprouts, and I had my heart set on trying this recipe, so I used broccoli in place of brussels sprouts. It was delicious. My husband wants me to make it this way in the future, but I like brussels sprouts even more than broccoli, so I can't wait to try it that way. Other than the broccoli, I made it exactly as the recipe called for. UPDATE: I made this for Easter using Brussels sprouts. It was sooo delicious. I doubled the bacon and mixed half of it in with the Brussels sprouts and sprinkled the other half to top of the bread crumbs and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was excellent! I hate brussels sprouts but this was unbelievable. It is a bit rich, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My family (husband, 3 kids) LOVED this recipe. We normally cook brussel sprouts and put cheese sauce, but I think we will be doing this now! The bacon and parmesan cheese with this recipe made it! DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States