Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I've never been much of a fan of Brussels sprouts, but I liked this. But the family members who do like Brussels sprouts were disappointed that this didn't taste enough like Brussels sprouts! I use Morning Star Farms soy bacon instead of the real thing - crunchy and since they are stored in the freezer, it's easy to just use two strips and not have a bunch of leftover bacon that has to be used up right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
What a hit! Even the 10 and 13 year old gobbled it up. Leftovers was the requested after school snack which speaks volumes for a vegetable. For a lower calorie count, we swapped heavy cream with half and half without losing any flavor. We also doubled the bacon because, well, why wouldn't you? We made this with white aged cheddar that was on hand and loved it both ways. The whole family rated it as one of their any day favorites but it's elegant for a holiday side two. Win-win! Definitely make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made this dish last night and my nine year old does not like brussel sprouts! But after she tried this dish, she ate all of her serving, plus had seconds!! This is what she drew for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this recipe as-written on Christmas Day. It was easy and quick to throw together and into the oven. When I brought it to family dinner later, everyone thought it was wonderful and it seemed like a lot more effort went into it. My uncle is a chef, so getting his approval is always a good sign. My father, who hates Brussels Sprouts, had two servings. (Who cares if it was mostly topping!) This recipe is too rich for every day, but makes a great dish for a fancier family meal. The leftovers were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful way to make Brussels sprouts! This is my new favorite way to serve them. Followed the recipe exactly, no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were great! Did not use the butter on the topping and really did not measure anything except the heavy cream - used 3 slices bacon and simply sprinkled a small amount of crumbs and freshly grated Roma cheese over top. Really enhanced the flavor of brussels sprouts - if you don't care for them, remember they are the main ingredient in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is so good, especially considering its simplicity! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
WOW. Real sleeper of a recipe and good! I subbed oatmeal for breadcrumbs, 1/4 lb pork sausage for bacon and 1/2 C chardonnay with ~1/4 C sour cream for the cream. And I was a little heavy with the Monterrey jack cheese (no Parmesan)... Aw shucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Nice change up to my usual roasted brussel sprouts! I used half and half in place of the heavy cream. The crust on top was yummy! I would make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We loved this dish. Five stars for ingredients. I quartered the sprouts after they were cooked, then tossed them in the cooked bacon, salt, pepper, half the bread crumbs and Parmesan. Then I drizzled in the cream, then the butter which I melted. Delicious way to serve these underrated veggies. Please give them a try. They will be on my table at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States