Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I was looking for a vegetable recipe that my children would eat. They both ate this dish without complaining. I am very pleased. I fried the bacon until it was crispy and put the crumbled pieces on top of the dish so the children could appreciate the bacon better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I read through the comments first and used some of the suggestions - I cut the sprouts in half before I boiled them and I omitted the butter. As a side dish to baked chicken, this was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina0723

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Thanks for the idea to start me thinking. I used mushrooms, onion, crushed fresh garlic, left over chicken breast, and lite alfredo sauce from a jar. We served it over brown rice...........yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was one of my favorite recipes we tried for Christmas this year. Very rich and flavorful. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
YUM! YUM! YUM! No need to say any more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I have a favorite Brussels sprouts recipe that uses pecans and lemon juice but tried this one instead. So glad I did. I tweaked it a bit by adding carrots which I boiled with the sprouts, for color and because I like them! I added minced garlic to the cooked bacon in the pan and briefly sauteed before adding the vegetables. Also, I used gluten free breadcrumbs and less than half of the butter. Normally I don't cook with heavy cream and was pleasantly surprised when it created a creamy glaze that mellowed the flavor of the Brussels. Oh, and I added a good sprinkle of nutmeg with the salt & pepper. It came out wonderful and I'll be making it for Thanksgiving. Big thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
AMAZING and tasty. I rated 4 stars because I changed the recipe because of my diet - no bread crumbs and sprinkled goat cheese on top instead of Parmesan. Also did not add butter - and messed up timing of bacon so I just added the Brussels sprouts to the bacon from the boiling water and sliced any big ones in the pan. Tasty, tender, sweet, and salty veggie confection! You will say hello to your heart attack with a smile...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I happen to love brussel sprouts, but there's nothing great about the recipe. I hoped it would be something I could serve during the holidays, but it's not up to par. Steamed with a little bit of butter is perfect for me. It's probably just the nature of serving brussel sprouts to non-likers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This recipe is amazing! Even if your not a fan of brussel sprouts you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My man hates brussels sprouts and he went back for seconds and thirds! He said it's the only way he'll eat them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States