Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent way to eat brussel sprouts for a nice change from the usual. This recipe has less ingredients and is quicker to prepare than my other Cheesy Gratin of Brussels Sprouts recipe that I make once in a while. This one is just as tasty though. The whole family gave it 5 stars (they loved the bacon in it). I will be making this one again for sure. Oh, and my only change was using half-n-half in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This dish is amazing! Even my eight year old who can be a picky eater asks for seconds! I've made this at dinners before for friends and one friend said, "I've never eaten brussel sprouts before and had no idea what I was missing!" That was a wonderful compliment to receive. It really is a great dish. One time, just to switch things up, I layered the top with slices of mozzarella cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nku1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I just have to say, this is the BEST way to eat Brussel Sprouts if you possibly don't like them. My brother made this recently and I agreed to try it, even though I have a lifelong hatred for them. I have tried them Many different ways and have never been able to get more than down. This though, I Loved. I went back for seconds at dinner and the next day, stole some off my husbands plate when he was warming them up to eat. They are THAT good. My brother used Turkey Bacon instead of regular and it was great. Something about the cheese and bacon, cuts all that bitter Brussel Sprout taste and just leaves you with something yummy instead. I think I'll be making this myself and omitting the bread crumbs and adding extra cheese as I'm trying to watch my Carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The first time I made this, my 12 year old daughter didn't want to try it because, you know, brussel sprouts, but she did and loved it! She even asked me to make it on Thanksgiving! I changed it a little by using chopped pancetta instead of bacon and fat-free heavy cream (my nod to my WW diet). Got raves from my guests who were brave enough to try it since, you know, brussel sprouts! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This dish is best served once as I found leftovers weren't as bright as when originally served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Loved it! I even "lightened" it by cooking the bacon in the microwave (draining the grease on paper towels) and using just a little bacon grease in the baking pan. I substituted the 1/2 cup of heavy cream with 1/4 c. sour cream and 1/4 c. nonfat Greek yogurt cutting 80 calories per serving. The best part, my kids loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made this for thanksgiving and everyone loved it!! Even people who said they hated brussels sprouts ate it. My mom made me make it again a couple days later. Really really good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Good recipe...simple with minimal ingredients. If you have nice small brussel sprouts, that is the key to your dish. Larger ones are bitter. Cooking method is good. Made for thanksgiving and everyone who liked brussel sprouts liked it. The only thing missing was the need for more butter. I doubled the recipe as I had tons of fresh garden brussel sprouts, but there needs to be much more butter to enhance the flavor. That's really the only missing element...otherwise there is no butter. I'd put 1/4 cup or so atop or mixed in with the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was great! After reading a few reviews, I was ready to begin. Usually, I'm not fond of brussles sprouts but I am learning it makes quite a difference in how they are prepared. I chunked up half a lemon and boiled it with the sprouts to help with the bitterness and it added a lot of flavour as well. To get the tasty bits off the bottom of my cast iron saute pan (bacon and 2 cloves of minced garlic), I splashed in a little pinot grigio and then tossed the cooked, halved sprouts in the pan. After that, I followed the recipe as is and WOW! Simple, fresh, delicious!! Will certainly be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nipawin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe was a hit with my family....I like to make different recipes with my vegetables....you must try this...it's rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States