Brussels Sprouts Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Nice change up to my usual roasted brussel sprouts! I used half and half in place of the heavy cream. The crust on top was yummy! I would make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We loved this dish. Five stars for ingredients. I quartered the sprouts after they were cooked, then tossed them in the cooked bacon, salt, pepper, half the bread crumbs and Parmesan. Then I drizzled in the cream, then the butter which I melted. Delicious way to serve these underrated veggies. Please give them a try. They will be on my table at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
So I used cooked frozen sprouts & 1/2 & 1/2 - only 1/3c. Tossed the sprouts w slightly heated 1/2 & 1/2 & maybe 1T plain breadcrumbs; then, added to the dish. Topped w remaining breadcrumbs & the parmesan. I thought I'd like & I did, but no one else was as happy. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I HATE brussel sprouts but after my mom just bought 2 bags I decided to look up recipes other than plain ol steamed brussels. this was actually pretty good. I think it would be better if made a day ahead so they can absorb the creaminess or maybe add more cream or even cut the brussel sprouts right in half. will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
My whole family loved this recipe! I made it to bring to Easter dinner at my Mom's house, I heard someone comment it was their favorite dish of the whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I loved this, but I gave only three stars because I changed quite a bit. I sautéed the bacon and halved the spouts. Instead of pre-boiling the sprouts, I added them directly to the bacon to cook them. This makes a big difference to their taste and texture. Then it was all seasoned and baked in cream and topping. In the end, I don't think the cream added anything. I would make this again, but my style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent way to eat brussel sprouts for a nice change from the usual. This recipe has less ingredients and is quicker to prepare than my other Cheesy Gratin of Brussels Sprouts recipe that I make once in a while. This one is just as tasty though. The whole family gave it 5 stars (they loved the bacon in it). I will be making this one again for sure. Oh, and my only change was using half-n-half in place of the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This dish is amazing! Even my eight year old who can be a picky eater asks for seconds! I've made this at dinners before for friends and one friend said, "I've never eaten brussel sprouts before and had no idea what I was missing!" That was a wonderful compliment to receive. It really is a great dish. One time, just to switch things up, I layered the top with slices of mozzarella cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nku1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I just have to say, this is the BEST way to eat Brussel Sprouts if you possibly don't like them. My brother made this recently and I agreed to try it, even though I have a lifelong hatred for them. I have tried them Many different ways and have never been able to get more than down. This though, I Loved. I went back for seconds at dinner and the next day, stole some off my husbands plate when he was warming them up to eat. They are THAT good. My brother used Turkey Bacon instead of regular and it was great. Something about the cheese and bacon, cuts all that bitter Brussel Sprout taste and just leaves you with something yummy instead. I think I'll be making this myself and omitting the bread crumbs and adding extra cheese as I'm trying to watch my Carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
The first time I made this, my 12 year old daughter didn't want to try it because, you know, brussel sprouts, but she did and loved it! She even asked me to make it on Thanksgiving! I changed it a little by using chopped pancetta instead of bacon and fat-free heavy cream (my nod to my WW diet). Got raves from my guests who were brave enough to try it since, you know, brussel sprouts! Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States